Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2012, 07:30 PM
jimco jimco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Lion opens apps on backup

Now that Lion restarts everything when it logs in, when I boot to my backup SuperDuper immediately starts and offers to back up. Since I also run Time Machine, it starts and begins to screw things up. And anything else that happened to be running when I ran SuperDuper.

I know I can disable this feature on my system, but I don't mind it. However, is there a way to set the SuperDuper backup not to restore windows and apps on opening?

Thanks,
Jim

Last edited by jimco; 01-25-2012 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2012, 08:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There isn't, no. Sorry.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2012, 07:45 AM
jimco jimco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Well, thanks for the straight answer. I guess in future I will turn Time Machine off, log out other users, and quit other apps before doing a SuperDuper! backup, which I know is good policy anyway. And when I boot into the backup image (which I do occasionally to test) I'll just tell SuperDuper! no thanks.
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2012, 01:31 PM
tuni tuni is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 84
I have encountered this issue too and find it a minimal annoyance - ever since I installed Lion- however, it "appears" if I follow Dave's suggestion and when I start up, I boot up while holding shift key down, it doesn't happen....at least not so far
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2012, 01:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's not an "issue" as much as it is Lion operating "as designed".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lion backup won't work Gerry Yu General 1 09-30-2011 12:39 AM
Startup Disc and Hard Drive Partitioning Questions Paint Guy General 15 10-27-2010 02:25 PM
Server drive won't mount after backup rhennosy General 1 11-09-2007 03:49 PM
Backup failure on a certain file bmat General 3 09-25-2007 09:06 AM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.