Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   "Permission denied" in log (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5834)

RobLewis 10-09-2009 12:12 PM

"Permission denied" in log
 
I'm trying to do a scheduled backup with shell scripts running before and after.

The "before" script mounts the backup volume and disables Time Machine:
diskutil mount MyBackupVol
defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine "AutoBackup" -boolean no

The "after" script just re-enables Time Machine, leaving SuperDuper! to unmount the backup volume:
defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine "AutoBackup" -boolean yes

I have this scheduled to run in the wee hours. This morning, SD! was bouncing the dock with the message "failed to run shell script 'MountBackupVol.sh'". The log had this:
| 02:30:30 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking Before Copy shell script: /Users/myusername/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Aux Scripts/MountBackupVol.sh
| 02:30:31 AM | Error | sh: /Users/myusername/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Aux Scripts/MountBackupVol.sh: Permission denied

I'm not clear on what exactly is being denied, and what to do about it. Is permission to run the script denied? Or is the running script being denied permission to (a) mount the backup volume or (b) turn off Time Machine?

I thought the manual might have some explanation related to SD!'s padlock icon and "Click to allow copying without password authentication." To my surprise, this isn't even mentioned in the manual that I could find, except a brief indirect reference in the "welcome" section explaining the added capabilities of the registered version.

Could you explain how to solve my problem, and perhaps provide a full description of what the padlock icon does?

Hmm. I just noticed in the log that SD! is checking permissions and things on the backup volume BEFORE running my script to mount it. Is my "mount" command redundant? Or does it perhaps work because the volume may have already been mounted (which is possible)?

dnanian 10-09-2009 12:25 PM

That script is not properly configured for execution - you need to "chmod +x the-script".

This has nothing to do with the lock (which authorizes SD! so you don't have to manually enter your password).


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.