Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   maintaining target volume icon (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=826)

yoxi 11-23-2005 02:00 PM

maintaining target volume icon
 
Hello there

Enjoying the ease-of-use of v2, (and free upgrade) thanks.

I've mentioned this before, I think: it'd be good to have an option in the prefs to maintain the volume icon of the target volume. In these days of 'choice is god', many of us out here have our own carefully-chosen icons, themes etc. and as things stand, I have to run a pre-flight shell script to save my icon to a temp file, and then a post-flight script to restore it afterwards.

And I need a separate pre-flight script for each different target volume, unless there's a way to pass the volume name through in the call in prefs?

Any chances of adding the icon save option for saving in the individual backup prefs files?

- yoxi

dnanian 11-23-2005 02:09 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Well, the thing is that the icon is a file that's part of the backup, and if you restore that backup, you'd end up with the wrong icon... but, I have a solution.

Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.

priller 12-02-2005 04:11 PM

Guess the question is ...... What changed? Loosing the target icon only started in v2.0.

I set the custom volume icons with CandyBar. When SuperDuper completes it's daily Smart Update, the target volume custom icon is lost. Prior to v2, this never happened.

dnanian 12-02-2005 04:13 PM

I can't see how that could be the case: this behavior has always been the case (and we've received complaints about it before the release of 2.0, as you can see by searching the forums).

Are you sure you've been doing the same thing this whole time?

Harry Cover 12-12-2005 06:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.

I have tried this and it does not work.
Maybe I have not understood where to put the "Volume Icons" folder and the "Set icon" script.
I have not the developer tools installed, but the source of my backup does have a custom icon.
Thanks to help me.

dnanian 12-12-2005 06:38 PM

OK, Harry. Where did you create the folder named "Volume Icons"? It should be in your Home folder. And did you place the icon file in there with the proper name?

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 02:28 AM

Thanks Dave for quick replying.

I boot from the Sandbox.
This maybe my problem explanation.

When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Is the icon folder supposed to be on the "Master" HD or on the Sandbox ?
I have tried both locations, without success.

Same question about the script ?
Il have copied it to: "/Applications/Utilities/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/set_icon", on the Sandbox.
Was I right ?

My Backup disk name is... Ahem... "Backup". ;)
The icon Unix path and name are "/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns".

Please forgive my poor english. I hope I made it clear enough.
We french people, here in Paris, love and use SD too.
"Merci beaucoup".

Yours.
HC

dnanian 12-13-2005 09:34 AM

Ah, OK. It's not a "Copy Script" -- it's a shell script.

Place set_icon in your Home folder instead, and make sure that when you look at it in Finder, its "icon" is a Unix Executable. Then, fix your "after copy" shell script choice in options.

The icon looks just about right, as long as you're logged in as "parents" when you run.

That should fix it, I hope. And thanks for taking the time to get in touch and for your english -- believe me, it's far better than my terrible french.

"De rien" :)

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 10:28 AM

I did as you said, but it does not work.
The icon is still changed.

As I said before:
When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Devil is in details.
Thanks anyway.
HC

dnanian 12-13-2005 10:31 AM

Could you look into the log and see what error you get there?

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 10:43 AM

The end of the log:

| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled for volume.
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled on Backup
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

dnanian 12-13-2005 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Harry Cover
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

Code:

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

Harry Cover 12-13-2005 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

Code:

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

And then ?
:confused:

dnanian 12-13-2005 03:41 PM

Try again! :)

Harry Cover 12-14-2005 01:39 AM

I have tried once more.
Hopeless ! :mad: :mad:
Always the same error message: "Failed to run shell script set_icon" and the iccon is lost.

Confirmation:
I have pasted the following text in the terminal, without removing anything.
Was I right ?

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

Thanks a lot for your patient help.
I appreciate.

Yours.

dnanian 12-14-2005 09:08 AM

OK. Again, I need to see the message in the log...

Harry Cover 12-14-2005 03:26 PM

Here it is:

| 07:31:56 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 07:31:56 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 07:31:56 AM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 07:31:56 AM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).

dnanian 12-14-2005 03:58 PM

OK. Please remove the file that's there already, and run the copy *from* the destination to this folder again. Something's gone weird with the file that's there, and the system thinks it's a folder (or it really is a folder).

Harry Cover 12-14-2005 04:37 PM

Oops !!
The system thinks right: it was a folder.
I copied the icon onto it.

So, I replaced the folder with a file, and launched the copy.
The error message and the red colour of the 3rd step has diasappeared.
The icon keepes changing.

Log:

| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Copy complete.

Harry Cover 12-14-2005 04:39 PM

Does the icon file have to be a special file, or any file is OK ?

dnanian 12-14-2005 04:41 PM

OK... and you're certain the icon file is correct?

dnanian 12-14-2005 04:47 PM

It has to be a real icon file. The best thing to do is to "harvest" it from the volume after you set it, as I described in a previous response, above...

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 12:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
It has to be a real icon file. The best thing to do is to "harvest" it from the volume after you set it, as I described in a previous response, above...

I must be a very bad "harvester".
I have been searching a lot, but could not find the message you mentionned. I still do not know how to "harvest" efficiently.
Could you give me the address of this message, please.

I think that your patient is now almost cured, Dave.
Sorry to bother you with this tiny problem.

Yours.
A french harvester.

dnanian 12-15-2005 12:34 AM

It's this one: http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/s...2&postcount=12.

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 04:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian

I thought it was something else, because I have tried this again, unsuccessfuly.

I have found that the HD icon is in the ".VolumeIcon.icns" invisible file at the root of the backup HD.
Couldn't we use it instead ?

In case you need it, the end of the log:

| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Quitting SuperDuper!
| 10:32:18 PM | Info | Copy complete.

Yours.

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 08:15 AM

Weird ! :eek:

The folder that you told me to create:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons"

is now empty...

Is SD going to erase my whole HD, little by little ??!! :confused: :p :p

dnanian 12-15-2005 09:37 AM

That *is* what you're trying to use, Harry. But you need to copy it and rename it to the name I suggested. If the folder is empty, it's because ".VolumeIcon.icns" is invisible (that's what the leading dot is)...

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 11:23 AM

OK, Dave.

So, I went to see inside the Folder with File Buddy:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons"

The icon file was there and invisible (see its name):
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

but :
- the name was the same, as the one you previously told me to set
- no dot at the beginning
- the custom icon still was there
- the file was invisible to the Finder, but not set as invisible in File Buddy

Anyway,
- I copied it
- replaced the invisible file, by the copied one, as you said
- launched the SD backup
- I tore again my remaining hairs, watching the icon lost :(
- and sent the log to you.

Please Dave lets find a solution before my nervous breakdown. ;)

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 11:38 AM

I have restarded the mac, and repaired the permissions.

The backup disk has now lost the icon it previously got, from the master disk.
It has now a generic HD icon. :eek:

dnanian 12-15-2005 11:41 AM

It sounds like it can't find the icon, or something, Harry. I'm just not sure what to suggest at this point...

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 11:52 AM

Suicide ?? :(

dnanian 12-15-2005 01:45 PM

How about installing the developer tools, Harry?

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 01:47 PM

No problem.
You mean Xcode ?

dnanian 12-15-2005 01:56 PM

Yes, the developer tools that come with the OS.

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 02:07 PM

OK, Dave.
And then...

dnanian 12-15-2005 02:09 PM

Run your backup again.

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 05:55 PM

Same bad result (icon lost).

Log:


| 08:44:44 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 08:44:44 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Quitting SuperDuper!
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Quitting SuperDuper!
| 08:44:45 PM | Info | Copy complete.

dnanian 12-15-2005 06:11 PM

OK. Sorry, Harry: I don't know what to tell you at this point... it should work, if you've got it set up right, but I'm at a loss to know what you've done wrong...

Harry Cover 12-15-2005 06:25 PM

I am sure the problem comes from the location or the name of files/folders:

"iMac G5" is the master HD whiche is copied to Backup HD.
"parents" is a user name.
Please, check the locations, and the names.

Are names correct in the set_icon script ?

Script file:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon"

Icon file:
"/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

dnanian 12-15-2005 09:13 PM

As long as you're logged in as "parents", that all seems right to me, unless the destination is really named "Backup HD" as opposed to "Backup". If so, the icon file would have to be called "Backup HD.VolumeIcon.icns".


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.