Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Naming the clone drive (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3237)

steveb 11-30-2007 05:04 AM

Naming the clone drive
 
Hi, before I started using SD!, whist I was researching it, I read in quite a few places that for best results the HDD onto which the clone is being copied should have exactly the same name as the drive your cloning, ie. Macintosh HD. For the last 8 months of using SD! I've done this and the few times I've needed to use the clone to restore my HDD it's worked fine.

My question is, is this true however? Do the two drives need to have the same name?

I ask because I'm about to make a third clone, meaning I'll have 2 external HDD's on the desktop called Macintosh HD plus the internal HDD of the same name. All a bit confusing when hungover!

So, can I name the externals according to what's on them, like archive Backup, main backup etc, or am I best to stick to the same names (and not attempt recovery when hungover!) ?

:-)

justG 11-30-2007 08:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steveb (Post 15830)
My question is, is this true however? Do the two drives need to have the same name?

I've never had two volumes with the same name and I've never had a problem. So as far as I know, no, it's not true, the drives don't have to have the same name.

dnanian 11-30-2007 03:44 PM

As justG says, they don't have to have the same name. When you start up from a backup drive, it's best if, at that time, it has the same name, since that will allow aliases to resolve to the right volume if the original volume is available...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.