Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   New OWC 500GB firewire Drive - where to start? (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2876)

djlynch 09-16-2007 09:01 PM

New OWC 500GB firewire Drive - where to start?

As a newbie, I have read the forums and think I know just enough to be dangerous.

Here is what I want to do. Create a fully bootable clone of my imac AND have an Aperture "Vault" for my photos that I have in aperture.

I seem to understand that a separate partition makes sense for this. Would it be wise to have 2,3,4 or how many partitions? Why partition at all?

I want to have my "digital life" on the external drive...itunes music, aperture pics, imovie movies etc.

Thanks for the help and looking forward to really being "smart" with my backups!:)

dnanian 09-16-2007 09:03 PM

You'll need two, one for your internal drive, and one for your external vault.

djlynch 09-17-2007 08:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 14114)
You'll need two, one for your internal drive, and one for your external vault.

Thanks for the quick reply! can itunes read from a partition on an external drive?

dnanian 09-17-2007 09:39 PM

Sure. You just have to tell it that's where your library is.

djlynch 09-17-2007 09:47 PM

Super Duper with Offsite backup working combination

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 14145)
Sure. You just have to tell it that's where your library is.

What are your thoughts on using a service like Mozy for JUST photos,movies,music in addition of course to an external drive or 2 with Super Duper bootable clone?

dnanian 09-17-2007 10:01 PM

As long as you understand how it works and what it does, I think it's a good service.

BackupFan 09-18-2007 12:38 PM

While Mozy is a great service for pure online backups, may I suggest you try Phanfare for archiving photos and videos.