Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   encryption and bootable backups? (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6848)

Dan Lester 01-02-2014 10:13 AM

encryption and bootable backups?

I've been using Super Duper for many years on many machines. Just fantastic. But now I'm bolluxed. Tried to set up a SD clone (to a 1 TB USB disk) on a 10.5 MacBook Pro that happens to be (unlike all my other machines) encrypted. This is a work machine that I'm required to encrypt. The clone is made, and SD reports that the volume was made bootable, but it's not. When I do option-restart, the backup volume simply isn't displayed as a boot choice.

I suspect it's all in there, but unless I can boot to that volume, and log in, the encrypted stuff on the clone is completely unavailable to me (which is why the encryption makes it secure!) Also, not having a bootable volume makes it pretty inconvenient as a life-preserver in case of a system disk failure.

What's going on? I'm not sure if this is a SD issue, or a system issue. I'm not even totally convinced that the problem is because of the encryption.

dnanian 01-02-2014 10:26 AM

Does it show up in the startup disk preference pane as a boot choice?

Dan Lester 01-02-2014 07:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 32682)
Does it show up in the startup disk preference pane as a boot choice?

Yes, it does.

I should add that this machine is an Intel Core 2, and the USB drive is GUID partitioned.

dnanian 01-02-2014 08:55 PM

Can you select it as the startup drive in the startup disk preference pane and do that? Repair it with Disk Utility (right-hand "repair disk" button first).

Dan Lester 01-02-2014 09:33 PM

OK, I did a "Repair" on the USB backup disk with Disk Utility. No problems reported.