Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Bought MAC for daughter - need to back up (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1573)

ablatt 08-25-2006 08:52 PM

Bought MAC for daughter - need to back up

I am a Windows XP veteran and finally caved and bought the first MAC in our household for my daugher who is going off to college.

It is a MacBook, with 1 GB RAM, 80 GB hard disk.

Got it all loaded up and she's off to school soon.

I've used Ghost and Acronis on XP PC's many times and both products allow you to image a boot disk (C:) to a file on another disk (say D:). You can then typically boot from CD and restore the file from D: back to C: and carry on where you left off.

I've read some stuff on SuperDuper, CCC and Deja Vu.

So here are my questions.

1. What external drive should I buy? Should it be USB2 or Firewire? I've read that the Intel MacBook supports booting from an external USB2 drive but is Firewire better or safer (probably faster)?

2. Can I image the internal MacBook hard disk to a file on the external drive? Is it a complete image including OS etc...

3. If the internal drive fails or gets corrupted, how do I get the image back from the external drive onto the internal drive (new or existing)?

dnanian 08-25-2006 09:25 PM

Hi, 'ablatt'.

I'd suggest a FireWire drive, specifically an Oxford based one. Good examples are the LaCie d2/d3, Maxtor OneTouch III, Wiebetech or most OWC units.

Yes, you can copy the internal disk to the external, and you simply start up from it and copy back with SuperDuper -- or, if you have lost the internal, you can even run from it and continue working. Much better than Windows... :)

ablatt 08-25-2006 10:33 PM

Thanks.

I assume you're talking about copying the entire contents to the external drive, as in cloning the internal to the external.