Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2006, 07:35 AM
littleb2005 littleb2005 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
SuperDuper Problem

after running superduper and backing it up to a read only image i seem to have links to 3 folders

/etc
/tmp
/var

if i delete them they come back after i repair permissions any ideas

screenshot

http://chiddy.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sd.tiff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:03 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,836
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes: these are normal, critical system folders you definitely want: please don't delete them!

There are a number of folders that Finder hides dynamically, even if they don't have hidden attributes. These three are some (as are /dev, /bin and many others).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2006, 07:54 AM
littleb2005 littleb2005 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Yes: these are normal, critical system folders you definitely want: please don't delete them!

There are a number of folders that Finder hides dynamically, even if they don't have hidden attributes. These three are some (as are /dev, /bin and many others).
ok but should they be on the drive that been cloned aka say i restore the image using disk utility to one of my partitions should the links to /etc
/var and /tmp be there i can understand them being on the disk image but not the drive that cloned
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:52 AM
Herbert Schulz Herbert Schulz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Naperville, IL USA
Posts: 18
Howdy,

Since you can actually boot from the cloned drive it must have everything that is needed by the system. Note: if you do boot from that drive those directories will be dynamically hidden on that drive so it will ``look'' exactly like your original boot drive.

Good Luck,
Herb Schulz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2006, 06:32 PM
littleb2005 littleb2005 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herbert Schulz
Howdy,

Since you can actually boot from the cloned drive it must have everything that is needed by the system. Note: if you do boot from that drive those directories will be dynamically hidden on that drive so it will ``look'' exactly like your original boot drive.

Good Luck,
Herb Schulz
the folders links i listed are not hidden though even know they should be i going to reclone later and will post back later if it happen again
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Quitting SuperDuper newarkde General 8 03-06-2006 08:22 PM
After 10.4.4 SuperDuper Stopped Recognizing Target Drive bobcarr@mac.com General 1 01-12-2006 04:01 AM
First Problem with SuperDuper michael k General 3 11-23-2005 12:47 PM
Problem using SuperDuper, it quits after launch virtudesign General 3 07-18-2005 05:15 PM
Apple Software Update problem after using SuperDuper ctolgc General 5 01-28-2004 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.