Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2007, 09:44 PM
tankgryl tankgryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Backups

Hi Team.
ok....
which is best way to backup using superduper:

sparse image to external drive
or folders to external drive

Does Sandbox take longer to run? would you suggest it as a all the time backup option

Running a 20" Imac (intel) We want to be able to use the drive as a boot device if the system crashes

I also want to make it a one button backup... so it opens and does it job without a lot of questions.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2007, 09:49 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's definitely best to back up directly to the drive if you can. A Sandbox, though, is different than a backup... its use is optional, of course.

SD! remembers its options, so all you have to do is start it and click "Copy Now". It can also be scheduled -- a "no button" backup.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2007, 04:48 PM
tankgryl tankgryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
It's definitely best to back up directly to the drive if you can. A Sandbox, though, is different than a backup... its use is optional, of course.

SD! remembers its options, so all you have to do is start it and click "Copy Now". It can also be scheduled -- a "no button" backup.


Hi Thanks for the quick response.
So if i backup directly to the drive then i will be able to run (startup) from that drive if needed..
What is different with Sandbox, to me when i read about it, it just sounded like a backup, excuse my ignorance. Does Sandbox need the special intel formatting of that external drive to be able to startup with an Intel computer
Thanks
Christina
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2007, 06:20 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The Sandbox isn't a backup. It's a way of checkpointing your system -- see the User's Guide, I describe it in a lot of detail there...

You do want to partition your external appropriately for your CPU type, yes. Usually, with Intel, that means "GUID".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rotate backups with single external FW drive? Tartaglia General 3 12-06-2006 04:14 PM
Scheduling Rotating backups Tangobozo General 1 09-18-2006 07:49 AM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 01:29 PM
new to backups grafico General 1 09-10-2006 09:31 PM
Timed/scheduled backups... soon? tuqqer General 4 11-16-2005 06:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.