Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2022, 09:38 AM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
scheduled backup failure

Just thought I'd report an odd occurrence. I have scheduled daily backups to two disks. I hadn't checked on them in a few weeks, but when I did, I found that one was working fine, and the other was not working at all. This second scheduled backup (to a new SSD) simply wasn't running. The "Last Copy" recorded for it was weeks ago, and the "Next Copy" was properly listed for tomorrow. The "Next Copy" was being updated every day, even though the copy was never made. The schedule seemed to be filled out correctly for daily operation, but I deleted and reentered it. It appears to now be working properly. Kind of strange. The lesson here is that if you have scheduled backups, check on the "Last Copy" occasionally to make sure they're really doing what they're supposed to be doing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2022, 10:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did you have it set to not give an error when a volume was missing?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2022, 01:01 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
I can't be sure, but I don't think the volume was missing from SuperDuper. Certainly the volume was mounted on the machine, as the first clue I had that this was happening was when opened the volume to see what was not supposed to be there.

That being said, how do you set SuperDuper to give an error when the volume is missing? That would be smart thing to do.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2022, 01:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The default is to show an error (it's a checkbox in the settings sheet).

I'm guessing you had it unchecked and had modified the low-level ID of the volume that wasn't running, so while the name may have been the same, it was no longer the same ID as it was before.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2022, 01:49 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
Ah, I see that checkbox, and it was not checked. Maybe I accidentally unchecked it? The disk at issue is a new SSD, and I'm writing to two partitions on it. A "weekly" partition, and a "daily" partition. It was the latter that wasn't working. The former was. Both partitions were created at the same time, so it isn't clear why one low-level ID would be screwed up and the other wasn't.

Last edited by Dan Lester; 03-24-2022 at 01:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2022, 01:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know, Dan. The evidence is, at this point, lost, so we'll have to see if it happens again.

Remember, we support notifications, and you can use those to see if the backups are running...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2022, 08:43 AM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
That's true about notifications, but if you have multiple backups, the notification doesn't tell you which one was actually completed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2022, 09:21 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't understand what you mean. It explicitly says "Copy of (source) to (destination) succeeded.", or it'll give an error about a failure...?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2022, 11:42 AM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
Let's see. I'm talking about Mac notifications. When I do a SuperDuper backup, this is the notification that I see.

Doesn't really tell you much. Is there some other notification that I should be getting?

Um, I attached an [IMG] link here, but it doesn't seem to show up. What I'm trying to point you at is
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Xu0...vYrDQOJYl/view
It simply says "SuperDuper! Copy Succeeded Notification"

Last edited by Dan Lester; 03-25-2022 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2022, 11:43 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There's no picture in what you sent, but the text is exactly what I typed above.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-25-2022, 11:59 AM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
My apologies. Try this
https://ln5.sync.com/dl/737cf5d40/3d...vhmba-28mw5se4
That's the Mac notification I get after I do a SuperDuper backup. It says that it succeeded in doing a backup, but certainly doesn't tell me from where and to where the backup was done. Am I supposed to be seeing a more informative notification?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-25-2022, 12:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
For some reason, your notification doesn't have the additional information that's part of the notification, yes. But it's certainly posted with the info, and I can see it here.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-25-2022, 12:58 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
Well, I'm a little baffled. The notification I see doesn't give any from- and to- information about a SuperDuper backup. It just says that some backup has succeeded. So if SuperDuper is supposed to be making a more informative notification, why am I not seeing it? What info are you looking at?

Now, I thought I figured it out. I was running a grandfathered Growl, which has now been retired, and I seem to recall that Growl prevents SuperDuper from issuing notifications. But I killed Growl, did another SuperDuper backup, and I still get the same uninformative notification.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-25-2022, 01:17 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know what to tell you, Dan. That's not what we send. Quite possibly a bug in Apple's notification handling.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-25-2022, 01:22 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
Just FYI, I'm using Monterey 12.2.1 on a 2021 M1 iMac. Would like to figure this out. I would sure like to see an "I did THIS backup" notification. Without that, I have to launch SuperDuper and scrounge down in the schedules to see "Last Copy".
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Disc and Hard Drive Partitioning Questions Paint Guy General 15 10-27-2010 02:25 PM
Scheduled backup failed to run penmaster General 4 01-31-2010 10:31 PM
Backup failure on a certain file bmat General 3 09-25-2007 09:06 AM
Scheduled backup crashes, but only on one Mac jonlevine General 1 02-21-2007 10:08 AM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.