Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Old 08-20-2007, 04:53 PM

Before I get Started...

I am new to SuperDuper! and relatively new to the Mac world. I have just bought a Western Digital Scorpio 250GB Hard Drive to upgrade my MacBook Pro with. I am even as I write this erasing the disk, and writing zeros to the whole thing in preparation for making it a bootable clone.

My MacBook is set up with Bootcamp, and Parallels, so I have a Windows Partition on the drive too. What is the procedure? Copy each image over to the new drive separately? Is it that easy? Things usually aren't...

Regards and thanks for your illumination,

wave_man
Old 08-20-2007, 04:59 PM
Administrator

Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We don't actually copy BootCamp (Windows) volumes, wave_man. But there was a recent article about this here that might help.
Old 08-20-2007, 06:37 PM

Thank you for the terrific link. I think I have a plan...
1. I am still not done "writing zeroes" yet. When that is done,
2. subpartition the drive three ways, with the unix command from the hackszine link or with the disk utility front end...
3. use SD! to copy my Mac partition over to Macintosh HD
4. use WinClone to copy my BootCamp partition over
5. do the mechanical procedure of swapping the drives. GAAHHH!!
6. boot it up flawlessly.

Wish me luck,

wave_man
Old 08-22-2007, 03:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wave_man View Post
4. use WinClone to copy my BootCamp partition over
That sounds right.

But, it raises a question of what an OS X EDIT > COPY does after you SELECT ALL the contents of a Drive and the Paste it into a folder on another disk. (You can COPY FROM an NTSF drive.)

Does an OS X COPY move absolutely everything except the Boot portion? I'm thinking of the hidden files that applications are found of hiding on a disk. And the dot files.