Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2023, 05:04 PM
Irl Irl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Taxachusetts
Posts: 36
OS backup duplicate names

I use SD! to make backups of my Catalina (10.15.7) OS drive; they are named "MB2OSXBkp1" and "MB2OSXBkp2". Both backups are volumes within an APFS container on an external HD. When I restart and hold the option key, the "choose start volume" screen shows four drives, named "MB2OSXBkp1", "MB2OSXBkp2", "MB2OSXBkp1", and "MB2OSXBkp2". If I choose either of the first two, boot fails, with the big "", followed by boot to the normal drive. If I choose either of the second two, boot proceeds normally and the system volume ends up being as expected. Why are there duplicate drive names, and how can I get rid of them? I recently upgraded to Catalina.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2023, 05:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,901
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know where the extra ones are coming from: if you (or we) delete volumes, any support informations should go with it. But certainly if you fully erase the drive (from the hardware) and then re-copy, they'll go away.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2023, 10:28 PM
Irl Irl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Taxachusetts
Posts: 36
I'll try the erase trick. Actually, I was wondering whether this is yet another instance of Catalina's being somewhat half-baked (e.g., the silly removal of Mail column customization). There are two volumes (or some similar entity) for each backup, the main one and the "... - Data" one. Maybe the restart code never got updated to take account of that change.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2023, 05:45 PM
Irl Irl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Taxachusetts
Posts: 36
Good advice! I wasn't sure what you meant by "erase from the hardware", but I used Disk Utility to remove the volume (it automatically removed both parts of the linked OS backup volume, the main one and the "Data" one); I added back a new (single-part) volume in Disk Utility; used SD! to erase then backup (it created the second part, of course); and now option-restart shows only a single disk to boot from and it boots just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2023, 06:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,901
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad to hear it..
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
duplicate backup drive


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Disc and Hard Drive Partitioning Questions Paint Guy General 15 10-27-2010 03:25 PM
Hard drive size doubled after backup.... sanketr General 7 08-02-2008 01:16 PM
Backup Drive Names rock15478 General 5 05-01-2008 10:50 PM
Server drive won't mount after backup rhennosy General 1 11-09-2007 04:49 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.