Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2005, 03:59 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
sandbox question

greetings! another few questions...

i have an external FW 300GB drive partitioned into 4 volumes: clone, sandbox, archive, and other. i have successfully created a clone. now, i just created a sandbox, but had an error at the end. i chose in OPTIONS to restart from the sandbox. once the copying was finished, i got a dialog box saying that logout failed because SD timed out on quit. not a big problem, but worth mentioning.

after i finished, i wondered if i should've created the sandbox from the clone rather than from the internal HD which was the current boot drive. does this matter? is it okay to make a sandbox from the drive you are currently booted from? also, is it okay to continue to work or surf the web while SD is doing its thing?

also, once i run the system updates (and itunes, quicktime updates) on the sandbox... are there procedures or suggestions to determine if the updates are cool and ready to administer to the internal HD? how long do YOU usually wait? AND, once i select my internal HD as the boot drive, and run software update, will those updates show up as installed updates or new software available?

and just a general FW drive question... do i need to "eject" it and turn it off before i shutdown?

thanks!

Last edited by zdoob; 12-11-2005 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2005, 04:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The shutdown/quit issue is known, and is something we're working on. We think it only happens when you erase-then-copy a volume, rather than using Smart Update.

You should definitely not create a sandbox from a clone -- you want the shared files to be on the original, boot volume. And, in general, it's OK to do light work while SD is copying (especially a Sandbox).

You don't need to eject FW drives when you shut down -- that happens automatically.

Hope that helps, zdoob.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2005, 04:04 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
you're too fast! you answered my question before i finished editing it to add more questions!!

thanks again for an awesome product and fantastic support!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2005, 04:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There's no hard and fast rule to know when things are ready for applying to the main volume -- you just have to make that judgement yourself...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2005, 06:40 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
hey thanks. also, out of curiosity - if i have my FW drive set as startup/boot (sandbox), and then turn on my mac without having the FW drive on, what will happen?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2005, 06:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It will likely boot to the first internal volume it can find.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:30 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
another question (sorry). i have been running from my sandbox. i opened an InDesign file and my Palatino font was missing. it is installed in the system library of the internal HD, but not in the sandbox. i opened fontbook and tried to install it, but nothing happened. i had to reboot from my internal HD to see the font in the file. is there something about the sandbox that i'm not understanding?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:37 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Do you see the file when you look at /Library/Fonts, zdoob? We copy all the fonts in the System library.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:50 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
yes. i see it that way, but it doesn't show up in fontbook or in InDesign.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's strange. Even across a reboot? Perhaps your Font Cache needs to be rebuilt...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:58 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
when the font was unavailable, i booted from the internal HD because i needed to work on that file. the font showed up as expected. i will reboot from the sandbox and see if it's there now.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-12-2005, 01:04 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
just rebooted from sandbox, and opened fontbook... palatino is not there. i've got a lot of fonts, so it's tough to tell if any others are missing. though i just noted how many fonts there are, and will reboot from the internal HD and see how many fonts are listed there.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-12-2005, 01:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try deactivating Palatino and reactivating it on the Sandbox.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2005, 01:13 PM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
fontbook counts 275 fonts when booted from the sandbox, and 276 when booted from the internal! how amazing is it that the ONE font that didn't work is the one i needed... i should mention that the sandbox is running 10.4.3 (and all of the most recent updates), and the internal is still on 10.4.2.

obviously this isn't a huge issue - i just thought i'd point it out to you. i can't even load palatino on the sandbox... i don't get any errors, it just doesn't load. maybe there's something wrong with the font? it's still strange that it would be there on the internal, but not the sandbox. maybe the font is somehow incompatible with 10.4.3?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:35 AM
zdoob zdoob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
just an update here. i booted from sandbox again, ran InDesign - no palatino. opened FontBook and tried to install palatino from several different sources... no luck. browsed to the file that SHOULD be showing up in fontbook (sandbox/library/fonts) and did a "get info" on it. suddenly, it appears in fontbook. go figure.

thanks for bearing with me!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding the Sandbox concept... mypointofview General 9 02-07-2006 10:07 PM
Partition Question (& General Question) thornomad General 3 09-24-2005 10:49 AM
Error Halted Backup! GadgetFan General 13 09-09-2005 08:46 PM
Cannot Run Ms Office 2004 Apps from Sandbox mpkalman General 22 03-08-2005 03:05 PM
How small can i make sandbox partition Dutchray General 1 11-27-2004 07:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.