Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:26 PM
denial denial is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
How to set Permanently hard Drive as disc to be copied from

I have recently purchased Superdooper for mac Tiger. If I do not leave the programme current, when Superdooper goes as scheduled to back up it tries to load to back up to the external disc but nothing is selected in the "Copy from". Thus the scheduled backup is aborted.
if i leave the progamme opened, then the required backup takes place.

has anyone any ideas?
Many thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That seems weird. Have you tried deleting and recreating your schedule?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2007, 07:06 PM
denial denial is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Dear Dave, many thanks for that suggestion. I have tried tht but to no avail.

I will just have to keep trying.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2007, 10:37 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
And you're sure the drive is available, and hasn't been modified at a low level by any other tool (changing its low-level identifier, or UUID/GUID)?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2007, 10:54 PM
denial denial is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Dear Dave,
many thanks. it is not losing the external drive but rather not holding the selection of the chosen drive ie Hard drive- from which to do a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2007, 11:57 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
And you're always running from that drive? It might be helpful if you could send me a system profiler report to the support address...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:25 AM
denial denial is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Dear Dave,
is this the report you meant?
Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac
Model Identifier: iMac7,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 1 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: IM71.007A.B00
SMC Version: 1.20f4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2007, 09:47 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Actually, I mean that you should choose File > Save in System Profiler, save to the default (XML) format, then archive (ZIP) that and send it to me, via email, to the support email address here at shirt pocket.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-03-2007, 06:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, I received your system profiler report, and I don't see much wrong (other than your drive is likely going to run slowly because it's a USB drive that's plugged into your keyboard, or at least on the same bus).

I do see, though, that you have some old stuff from the Mac you must have migrated from installed that's causing some errors -- some input manager/hack called iPLM that you likely want to remove.

I just don't know why -- other than a bad scheduled copy -- that your schedule would come up blank. Could you try to schedule and set the time for a "few minutes from now", save that, then quit and see if it runs while you're watching?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2007, 05:09 PM
denial denial is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Dear Dnanian,
thanks so much for your help. All fixed now. Backup is operating twice a week as programmed.
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-06-2007, 05:49 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad to hear it!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 06:03 PM
Formatting an external hard drive for both Mac and PC Mary Grimsley General 5 11-25-2006 03:40 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 09:26 AM
Hard drive size needed for backup? Hoosier_1701 General 8 05-20-2006 08:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.