Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2008, 03:22 AM
galfromdownunder galfromdownunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: I get around! Based in USA/Australia
Posts: 12
From Leopard back to Tiger

I created a bootable clone last night, then installed Leopard on my 12" Powerbook (which has an overloaded 60 gb drive).

Now, having discovered what a disk space hog Leopard is, and not able to shell out for a new Mac just now, AND discovering my olde but good-enough Photoshop Elements 2.0/Photoshop 7.0 don't work anymore, I want to go back. (Maybe my Diskwarrior won't work either and that's an expensive replacement too)

I trawled the earliest posts on this forum and saw the one called Tiger back to Panther but I think it said something about using the original OSX disks. I do NOT have the original Tiger installation disk on me.

So, is the "nuclear" RESTORE merely a) boot from clone b) run SD and select 'backup all files, source = clone, target = Powerbook HD?

Oh yeah, pity this forum limits my username to 15 and not 16 characters!

I await your wisdom ... thank you ...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2008, 07:27 AM
Jeffus Jeffus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The World
Posts: 30
From Leopard to Tiger

Hi galfromdownundeR,

Yes, if you have a fully bootable SuperDuper! backup of Tiger (on an external drive?) just reinstall it onto your main internal Powerbook HD. Please make sure there is nothing you want to keep though on your "Leopard' disk as SD will erase and backup all files on it and reinstall your Tiger system as you had it before. This I think is what you are wanting? If you did have the Tiger original disks and used them to do a new "clean install" you would lose all your previous settings unless you did an "install and archive" installation, even then you would still have to copy files across that you want from the "Old System" folder it creates. Hope this helps.

Jeffus.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2008, 11:42 PM
galfromdownunder galfromdownunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: I get around! Based in USA/Australia
Posts: 12
Just to make sure

Jeffus ... thank you so much. Please confirm that i have the procedure right...

1. Boot from clone (created using SD Smart Backup on Firewire external drive) - by restarting with Option key held down.
2. Set source = clone, target = Macintosh HD
3. Hit the button and cross fingers.

I know I sound like I'm repeating myself again but just making sure ... it's nerve wracking when your finger is poised over the button - we al know that if you get one thing wrong it can mean days of frustration and lost time as we all know ...

Appreciate your patience again.
Thanks.

Last edited by galfromdownunder; 02-18-2008 at 03:38 AM. Reason: doh! He answered the part 2 of my reply in his original answer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2008, 11:15 AM
Jeffus Jeffus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The World
Posts: 30
Correctomundo

Hi again girlfromdownundeR,

Sorry for the delayed response, been out today.

Corectomundo, either use the restart/option way and select clone OR select your bootable clone from system prefs>startup disk then after selection, restart. I use that method simply so I can check if the clone really is bootable. It won't show in your startup disk option if it's not bootable (or doing the restart/option). Uncross your fingers you have a SuperDuper! backup. Remember SD will erase and make your destinaton disk the same as your clone.

Jeffus.

Last edited by Jeffus; 02-19-2008 at 07:45 AM. Reason: typos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2008, 05:23 PM
rithban rithban is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Sounds like you got it right.

I was in a similar boat. I upgraded an iMac to 10.5, but something go messed up BAD.

I did a full SD backup immediately before the upgrade. I all needed to do was boot from the backup and do a copy from the backup partition that I booted from to the Macintosh HD.

System recovered. Flawless. (Which is why I grovel before the mighty Shirt Pocket. *grin* )

I ended up re-installing 10.5 from scratch (rather than upgrade), and everything is fine. I was able to restore the user data & settings from the backup partition also. Sweet!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2008, 11:43 PM
galfromdownunder galfromdownunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: I get around! Based in USA/Australia
Posts: 12
Thanks guys!

Now I'm wavering ... is Leopard really worth it on a 12" 1gb/60gb Powerbook?
I guess that's not a question for this forum.
What I really need is a ultra-compact RAID of a Terabyte or more for road warriors ... this imoviemaking takes up way too much room.

The Gal www.galfromdownunder.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2008, 12:47 PM
Jeffus Jeffus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The World
Posts: 30
Nice site

Hi gal (sorry to be so informal),

Fingers are packing in doing galfromdownunder. If you are happy with Tiger why overtax your 12" 1gb/60gb Powerbook? I'm still with Tiger and can't fault it. Won't be going to Leopard 'till I hear "stability is great" mentioned.

PS Great web site, well done. Keep doing it gal.

Jeffus.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back to Tiger... casinojay General 2 11-27-2007 09:35 PM
The legend of HiroProtagonist, the Leopard, and Super Duper! hiroProtagonist General 4 11-06-2007 08:47 AM
Backing up Leopard from Tiger partition? MMM General 3 11-03-2007 03:05 PM
Restoring my Super Duper Backup - Tiger or Leopard ? pauljulian General 1 11-02-2007 10:31 AM
Setup Leopard & Tiger to use same home folder lonewolf2222 General 5 09-02-2006 09:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.