Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2008, 11:15 AM
RichardI RichardI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Odd error mesage

Hi all. Newbie here. I've had SuperDuper! ever since I bought my iMac and it has worked perfectly until I got Leopard. I have an Iomega external 750 Gb. hard drive connected via FireWire800. I waited for the update for Leopard, installed it and immediately did a complete backup. Now I just use Smart Update and it seems to work fine except for one thing. Every time I perform an incremental backup, I get an error message telling me that SuperDuper! terminated unexpectantly, but no other apps have been effected. As near as I can tell, everything worked fine, but I'm not really sure. How can I check to be sure my backup is OK?

Thanks,

Rich
__________________
Never keep a dog then bark yourself.
27" mid 2010 iMac, 2.93 Ghz., 8Gb RAM, 1 TB HD., OSX 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2008, 11:35 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you using a Logitech mouse, Rich?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2008, 03:22 PM
RichardI RichardI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Why, yes, I am. Along with Logitech Control Center. Is that the cause of these error messages? Wow, that really is odd.
Anyway, yes I use a Logitech mouse - an MX-620 cordless.

Rich
__________________
Never keep a dog then bark yourself.
27" mid 2010 iMac, 2.93 Ghz., 8Gb RAM, 1 TB HD., OSX 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2008, 03:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, it's LCC. If you configure your "On successful completion" option to "Do Nothing", that'll resolve the issue.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2008, 04:26 PM
RichardI RichardI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
OK, thanks Dave. I like being able to walk away from my Mac after starting the backup, so I purchased Steer Mouse and uninstalled LCC. SteerMouse works great and doesn't interfere with SuperDuper!

Rich
__________________
Never keep a dog then bark yourself.
27" mid 2010 iMac, 2.93 Ghz., 8Gb RAM, 1 TB HD., OSX 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2008, 06:19 AM
RichardI RichardI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
One more thing. I don't regret buying SteerMouse, but it didn't work either. I uninstalled the LCC using Forklift, installed SteerMouse, set up preferences, etc., then re-booted. Then I did a new backup. Same error message. For now I'll take your advice and change my prefs to "do nothing" after a backup. My Mac will sleep on it's own. If this little issue gets fixed, I'd like to know though.

Thanks again,

Rich
__________________
Never keep a dog then bark yourself.
27" mid 2010 iMac, 2.93 Ghz., 8Gb RAM, 1 TB HD., OSX 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.