Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:32 PM
gadgetdoctor gadgetdoctor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Dropbox, Migration Assistant, Symbolic Links and SuperDuper

The SuperDuper bit and question:

How does SuperDuper handle symlinks? If I have a symlink on a drive called ST256 that points to somewhere else on ST256 and that gets cloned to clone_ST256 does the symlink point to clone_ST256 or does it still point back to the original drive, ST256? I looked on the SuperDuper clone and where the symlinks are they appear to point back to the original drive rather than having been re-pointed to something relative. Is this normal?

OK, I know... what the heck was I thinking?

So I have a shiny new i7 MacBook Pro and I thought I would set it up using a firewire superduper clone of my present MacBook Pro and migration assistant. I opened the machine and used MA right from the Welcome screen.

Now on my present machine I have Dropbox and in my dropbox I have a number of symbolic links to other folders in my documents folder and one or two to ~/Library/Application Support/...

After I booted up the new machine as soon as I hooked it to the internet dropbox started deleting files. 3000 files down I finally unhooked it from the internet and closed my other machine which had already deleted a whole bunch of files.

Fortunately everything was on any one of a number of backups but now I'm exploring what happened.

Of course it is possible that migration assistant doesn't recreate symlinks properly (when I look on the new MacBook the symlinks are all broken but I honestly don't know if that broke going from the firewire to the new Mac or from the old Mac to the firewire.

If any of that makes sense, well done! Tomorrow I may try again but this time without using the superduper step and just hook the two MacBooks together and go out for a long walk.

Oh, and I'll turn off Dropbox till I figure out everything has copied properly!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We copy symlinks by copying the symlink. It's copied EXACTLY as-is, otherwise it couldn't be properly restored by anything (including Disk Utility). No aspect of the symlink is changed...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:42 PM
gadgetdoctor gadgetdoctor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Thank you Dave....

So I can confirm, using a superduper clone instead of the real machine when using migration assistant is probably not the smartest thing to do if there are symbolic links involved and the name of the disks change.

No harm done.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, I've migrated from a SuperDuper! copy, which is effectively identical to the original drive, many, many times.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2011, 06:07 PM
gadgetdoctor gadgetdoctor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Should I make the names of the drives on the two machines identical?

I also noticed that my user folder switched from

myname To myname1

Is that significant?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2011, 06:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, you should. But if that happened, it's because you migrated after starting up the Mac for the first time, rather than doing it at first boot. See the FAQ about exactly this issue...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2011, 12:43 AM
gadgetdoctor gadgetdoctor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Actually it was first boot, but I partitioned the hard drive before first use.

It has a 750gb and I will soon remove the DVD and put a 256ssd in as boot drive. Then the copy on the spinning will be my inboard nightly backup disk with 500gb for data.

I'll try again today, wipe the system and name the drive the same as the original drive in my other Mac before migrating.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2011, 08:01 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know why it'd rename your Home folder unless there was already a user there with the same name - you have to do this when prompted to 'copy from another Mac': don't run the Migration Assistant by hand.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dropbox, migration assistant


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandbox and symbolic links Rip General 7 01-26-2011 11:47 AM
Too many levels of symbolic links cyberdog General 3 03-27-2008 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.