Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:51 PM
lfedje lfedje is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Backup appears slow.

Hi

I am new to this forum as well as SD. I recently purchased the 24" iMac Core 2 Duo with 250GB HD and installed Parallels with Windows XP. The Parallels partition has about 50GB of programs and data in it and there are a total of 614,000 files. Oh, and BTW, this is my first Mac ever. I have used PC's for the past 30 years, so it's a big leap for me. However, from what I have experienced so far, I don't think I would ever go back!

It seems that the backup has stalled. It's been sitting there for about a half hour at 17GB copied.....woops, it just started again and all of a sudden jumped to 48GB copied, and now the files copied count is going quite well again. Would that be a part of the parallels partition that was being copied over?

I am now into this for 1 hour 48 min. and at 50GB usine a Lacie USB 2.0 external drive. Is this about normal for the original copy?

Also, I see 2 questions sitting in front of me in part 3. "After Successful Copy" . Make Drive Bootable and Restore Spotliht state on Drive. What is the best answer to these 2 questions?

Any other advice on using SD would be greatly appreciated as well. Like little tips to make things run as smoothly as possible.

Thanks, Loren
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:58 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's right: it took a long time to copy the Parallels file, and we don't give status "mid-file", so it's usually best to step away and get a tasty beverage during the copy process.

USB is slow, even USB 2.0, compared to FireWire. It's hard to say how fast it should run, but after you're done Smart Update will speed the process significantly. Just make sure that you're not running Parallels while you're backing up!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:58 PM
lfedje lfedje is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Oh, and if I make it bootable, how do you boot from it? Remember, I am an total neophyte, when it comes to the Mac OS.

Loren
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:58 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Select it as the startup drive in the Startup Disk preference pane.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2006, 05:04 PM
lfedje lfedje is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks Dave, and no, just to be on the safe side I am not running anything on that Mac right now, not even my browser. I am using my 17" iMac.

During a backup process like this, can I run the Mac side as normal or would that interfere with the process.

When this is done, I will give you the stats on time.

Loren
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2006, 05:07 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As I said, it's a good time to step away from the Mac and let it back up -- while you might be able to get away with doing some stuff, it's best to not.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2006, 05:21 PM
lfedje lfedje is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Hi Dave

It took 2 hours 20 min to copy 584,333 files out of 614,407. About 63GB.

Loren
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2006, 05:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Was the speed about 6MB/s?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2006, 02:26 PM
t3rockhall t3rockhall is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfedje View Post
Oh, and if I make it bootable, how do you boot from it? Remember, I am an total neophyte, when it comes to the Mac OS.

Loren
Not trying to hijack the thread, but selecting it from SysPref only works if the backup drive is ON.

You can always start from the external drive when the computer or backup is OFF by (1) turning the external drive ON. (2) Hold down the Option key as you start the computer, and when both the internal and external drive appear on the screen, (and the cursor turns to an arrow) click once on the external drive and then click on the right-pointing arrow. This works when you start from OFF or from a restart COMMAND.

REMEMBER, if you are running from the internal drive, and the external is also running, then you should UNMOUNT the external by dragging it into the trash or just shutting off the computer before shutting the backup drive down. If you're running from the backup, it's best to shut down, turn the backup off, and then restart.

This may be more than you want to know, but the important thing is that a disk must be "unmounted" before you remove it from the computer.

My apologies for the intrusion. BTW, SD has made MY life soooooo easy.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow Backup under 10.4.5 Naismeth General 7 02-21-2006 11:58 AM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 06:50 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM
Smart Backup is very slow macgruder General 1 07-19-2005 09:09 AM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.