Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2007, 12:44 AM
@msterdamned @msterdamned is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
OS X Server clone and password issues

Hi, I am trying to work out the best way to create disk images of my servers.

So I have created non compressed Read Only disk image of my main Open Directory Master server to a remote volume. I copied the disk image to a Firewire drive.

I then booted a different tower G4 from an OS X 10.4 DVD, connected th FW drive with the disc image, opened Disk Utility and restored the saved disk image to the new machine. This all went smoothly. Once the restore was finished, I rebooted the test clone server from its internal hard drive and it all started up fine. I left this new cloned machine off of the network as I did not want it to conflict with my OD master which was still up and running.

However the test clone does not recognise my admin password. Did I miss a step or do I need to do something differently. I'm guessing the problem was likely caused by Open Directory.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2007, 01:06 AM
@msterdamned @msterdamned is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Stranger and stranger

Weird. I can log into the machine at startup using the admin password, however once I hit the desktop and want to make any changes (IE in system preferences) the same password doesn't work anymore but my root password does.

Could this be a permissions problem, some settings I had wrong when making the disk image?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2007, 07:13 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's really weird. It's possible that the OD data wasn't fully flushed to disk when we copied it: have you tried copying that server when it was offline?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2007, 07:22 PM
@msterdamned @msterdamned is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply. I haven't tried taking the machine off-line before imaging, its our main file-server and it gets hit from 8am till 8pm everyday (even weekends!) which makes it hard to take down for any length of time. I was hoping SuperDuper's ability to clone the booted HD would help me avoid lengthy downtime while I create Disk Images of all my servers.

Like I said the cloned machine seems to be 100% fine apart from the Admin account issue. Could it be a permissions error of some kind?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2007, 09:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't think so; permissions would be copied. I think the files are all OK.

Is there perhaps a way that Apple recommends backing up the Active Directory? If so, you could run that before the backup (even automated with our before script) and then restore it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User Acc. Passwords On Clone changed? slickmrick General 2 06-27-2006 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.