Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2009, 07:02 AM
paulp paulp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Drive rotation

Hello Dave, June 2008, I asked you about how to configure it so that SD would use two hard drives for backup. (Case 69687). You very clearly explained how to do this and all has been working very well up until a couple weeks ago.
(The solution you gave me was use SDDiskTool to set each drive with the same UUID).

Since I updated my SD to the latest version 2.6.2 (v87) this solution "seems" to have broken in some way. I've re-run SDDiskTool and indeed - the UUIDs were different so I made them the same again. Now each schedule still fails with the message "SD can't find the drive Backup". Are you aware of this issue please and do you have any ideas for how I can resolve this?

Thanks,
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2009, 09:45 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Have you deleted and recreated your schedule?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:09 AM
paulp paulp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Drive rotation

Hi, Yes I've done that, and I've also erased and partitioned both drives to start again from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:19 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you partition the drives again, you'll change their low-level IDs. It sounds to me like you haven't properly set that up.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:23 AM
paulp paulp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
OK possible but - I partitioned each drive for apple partition scheme and gave each the same drive name as before.
Then I did the SDDiskTool routine afterwards. Each UUID was indeed different and I set each of them with the same UUID before then rescheduling a backup.
The backup schedule worked for the first drive attached but then always fails for the second (no matter which is connected for the first run).
I checked the UUIDs were the same only yesterday and they were.
cheers, Paul
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I have no idea why that would be, Paul, except if the drive doesn't have the same low-level ID. I assume the 2nd backup works if you don't swap drives?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:28 AM
paulp paulp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Hi, yes the 2nd backup works if same drive is left attached.
Mac OS 10.4.11 if that helps. Only I've noticed another issue re tiger that you say will be resolved in next update - and just wonder if this is a related issue?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:46 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, not related. That was only backup on connect.

If you start SuperDuper, select the drive and quit and restart, it should remember the drives.

Then, attach the other drive. Does it start and prompt for a missing drive?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:56 AM
paulp paulp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
I've only got vnc access from here today, so I'll talk someone in the office through doing this, and I'll come back to you about it later. Thanks, Paul
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:21 PM
paulp paulp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Sorry, can you clarify....

If you start SuperDuper, select the drive and quit and restart, it should remember the drives.
*Do you mean quit and restart the mac OR SD? And leave 1st drive attached through this?


Then, attach the other drive. Does it start and prompt for a missing drive?[/QUOTE]
*Do you mean disconnect drive1 and then mount drive2?

Thanks.
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I mean restart SD, and no, disconnect drive 1 and attach drive 2.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2009, 02:20 PM
paulp paulp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
OK - I watched as drive1 was mounted and SD launched.
SD gave the "cannot find backup drive" dialog.
The drive was chosen under target and SD was quit.
Relaunch SD and it then saw drive1.
SD quit and drive1 ejected.
Drive2 mounted and SD launched gave same error dialog.
(The drive2 was used for backup last night (albeit manually) so SD had used drive2 before.)

cheers, Paul
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2009, 05:07 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That means the drives do not have the same low-level ID, Paul...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 09:22 AM
MacBook Pro Drive with Boot Camp to boot into Vista scottsdale General 1 06-11-2008 09:09 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 06:03 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.