Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2007, 12:53 PM
danmitch danmitch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3
Leopard Issue or Something Else?

Earlier this week I finally updated my 24" iMac from OS X 10.4.11 to Leopard 10.5.

Since that time I've had a problem with SuperDuper!. When I run my usual incremental backup, instead of updating only a few files nearly every file on the computer is being backed up anew, even though I may have made a previous backup as little as 24 hours earlier.

This is particularly aggravating because I'm backing up about 500GB of data to a disk image on a server on my network.

Suggstions?

Thanks.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2007, 01:34 PM
davebarnes davebarnes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 27
Dan,

SuperDuper! does not work correctly under Leopard.
Yes, it does backup every file every time.
And, no, you can not boot from the backup.

Take a few minutes and read many of the earlier topics and you see a lot more about this issue.

,dave
__________________
Dave Barnes
+1.303.744.9024
http://www.marketingtactics.com

Last edited by davebarnes; 12-23-2007 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:34 PM
danmitch danmitch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3
OK, did that.

But I don't see anything but descriptions of various problems with SuperDuper! running on Leopard, and an indication that there will be a fix (at least for an issue relating to SD and Time Machine...) in a couple weeks.

In the meantime, and in reference to my specific issue...

Am I correct in assuming that there is no option when backing using my backup to a volume containing a disk image on my local network under Leopard to the slow and cumbersome current approach of writing a new complete backup (rather than an incremental one) to the disk image?

It isn't clear to me from my reading here, but it appears that the non-bootable backup issue might affect a backup straight to an attached drive, but not to an image on a remote volume? In other words, will I be able to restore from my disk image backup made under Leopard and have a functional system?

Since I don't see anything about this in my "few minutes" of reading related forum posts, is there any way for me to currently do an incremental backup under Leopard?

And, finally, what does a Time Machine backup lack that might be provided by SD? (I already understand the issues with backing up to a network volume via Time Machine.)

Thanks,

Dan

QUOTE=davebarnes;16246]Dan,

SuperDuper! does not work correctly under Leopard.
Yes, it does backup every file every time.
And, no, you can not boot from the backup.

Take a few minutes and read many of the earlier topics and you see a lot more about this issue.

,dave[/QUOTE]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Dan. The "Smart Update Copying Everything Again" problem is a known issue with 2.1.4 and Leopard that will be fixed in the Leopard version.

There's quite a bit on the blog about what SD! and Time Machine do (differently) and how they complement each other, so I'd suggest checking that out.

Hope that helps.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2007, 01:39 PM
justG justG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by danmitch View Post
is there any way for me to currently do an incremental backup under Leopard?
No, not with the current version of SuperDuper!.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use the current version of SD to 'migrate' to Leopard? dariusp General 1 12-06-2007 08:15 AM
Compatability with Leopard fridge General 2 12-04-2007 10:09 AM
How to Restore Under Leopard? mshelter General 16 12-03-2007 05:42 PM
The legend of HiroProtagonist, the Leopard, and Super Duper! hiroProtagonist General 4 11-06-2007 08:47 AM
Restoring my Super Duper Backup - Tiger or Leopard ? pauljulian General 1 11-02-2007 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.