Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:14 PM
alextwitchen alextwitchen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Upgrading to Leopard

Please excuse what might seem an obvious question! I have a MBP running 10.4.11 and I'm now planning to upgrade to 10.5. My machine is over 2 years old and whilst my internal HD seems ok from testing it with disk utility I'm keen to do a clean install rather than an archive and install. If I go for the clean install can I use migration assistant to bring back my files and settings from my SD clone and hence replicate an archive and install but with the benefit of a clean HD. I'm presuming that I can connect my external HD which I keep my SD back-up on and when prompted use this to migrate my current settings etc.... Apologies again if this is a rather obvious question but I just want to check before I go for the clean install option. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:24 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Assuming it's a regular bootable backup, yes, you can do that.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:33 PM
alextwitchen alextwitchen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks Dave, that helps to put my mind at rest.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2008, 10:04 AM
alextwitchen alextwitchen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
I've done my clean install of leopard and updated to 10.5.4 all seems to be working well and the computer is much quicker than before so I think it benefitted from a really good clean out. Now to restore my data from SD, I presume when I'm in Migration Assistant I click on 'from another volume on this mac' rather than 'from another mac' and with my external HD connected go from there - sorry if this is a lame newbie question.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:15 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Correct. But you'll want to do this DURING the first boot of Leopard. Do not migrate after you've already set up, as your user IDs won't match and you'll have permission issues.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:48 AM
alextwitchen alextwitchen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks Dave, so when I install leopard have my external HD connected via firewire then go through the leopard install process and select my internal HD for the install, but when I get to the set-up pane after leopard installs then select 'another volume on this mac' and my external HD should do the migration before I create an account for the first time. I understand how this would give me permission problems if I have already created a new account that is different to what I have on my external. So it seems best to reinstall a clean version of leopard again and don't pass on the migration assistant this time!!!!! What a newbie!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:54 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Exactly. Should be pretty painless.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2008, 11:10 AM
alextwitchen alextwitchen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Sorted!!! Reloaded a clean install of leopard and transferred my files from SD on my external. Really was painless and now back up and running with a system that seems much more slick. I will definitely recommend SD to all my friends and colleagues.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried this? Upgrading MBpro to Leopard AND HD midget2000x General 1 06-18-2008 08:55 PM
Upgrading To Leopard idkidd General 1 01-23-2008 11:38 AM
The legend of HiroProtagonist, the Leopard, and Super Duper! hiroProtagonist General 4 11-06-2007 08:47 AM
Upgrading to Leopard? Wailord General 8 10-30-2007 09:42 AM
Upgrading to 10.5 Leopard: Best Approach? AJ500 General 15 10-27-2007 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.