Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2008, 07:25 AM
djlynch djlynch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Windows partition with Boot camp

I hate windows but am buying into a business that uses proprietary software requiring windows.

If I want to use Mac hardware with windows through bootcamp and use SD to backup everything up, is that possible?

Will SD backup all the data on the windows bootcamp partition? Just curious, does Time Machine do anyhing with a bootcamp windows partition?

Other than Bootcamp, what way can I use windows and have SD backup all my windows data each night? I've heard of Parallels, but do I then need to have a windows backup program?

Last edited by djlynch; 02-22-2008 at 07:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:39 AM
justG justG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
SuperDuper! will only backup your Mac partition. You'll need a Windows backup solution to backup your Windows data.

http://shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1965

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:46 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you use VMWare or Parallels to run Windows from your regular drive, rather than BootCampe, you can use SD! to back up their image(s). But we can't back up a BootCamp volume.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:51 AM
djlynch djlynch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Okay. With VMware or parallels, what does it mean when you say "back up their images"? If the Hard drive crashes, can I restore with SD and have all my Windows data and programs?

I want to buy Mac hardware and use my existing Firewire drives to do nightly backups with a simple SD! restore if needed.

VMware Fusion or Parales? I have read that VM Fusion is "better" in terms of USB connectivity, printers etc

Last edited by djlynch; 02-22-2008 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:22 PM
justG justG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
When Dave says "images" he's referring to the virtual hard drives Fusion and Parallels Desktop create. To virtualisation software those images = Windows installation + Windows data, but to OS X they're just application data files like any other; consequently, SuperDuper! can back them up along with the rest of your data. Most Windows software runs fine in such an environment. You really only need Boot Camp if you're a non-casual gamer or if you're running CPU- and GPU-intensive software like a Windows-only 3D modelling application. If you can get by without having to boot into Windows, then yes, simply using VMware or Parallels will make your life (and backup routine) easier.

Regarding the actual software, I'm a registered Parallels user, but ignored my license and got Fusion anyway. I find it to be *much* better across the board: it's faster, it's more stable, and Fusion's Unity works better (in my experience) than Parallels' Coherence mode. Both have trials, so you can try them both, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend VMware Fusion.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2008, 01:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
JustG's got it exactly right, and I'd suggest VMWare over Parallels as well.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2008, 08:20 AM
djlynch djlynch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks JustG! and Dave. That is exactly what I wanted to know. VMWare will be the way I go.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2008, 03:16 AM
jsfitz22 jsfitz22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Please explain how this works:

I use Windows XP via Boot Camp and Parallels (I have Parallels set to utilize the Boot Camp installation of Windows) and I use SuperDuper! to clone/backup my HDD - I originally used WinClone and SD! to clone my Mac OSX and XP HDD so I could upgrade my internal HDD in my Macbook and since then I have been copying my "Macintosh HD" using SD! - the was under the impression that SD! would not copy the Boot Camp partition/data, though I tested this the other day and SD! appeared to copy everything and I was able to boot into Windows from the backup directly (like I would from the original Boot Camp version) - I was also able to boot into Windows from the Parallels configuration.

How does this work? My Parallels virtual machine appears to just be a shortcut to point to the Windows partition, though perhaps not - that's the part I don't understand. And, how am I able to boot directly into Boot Camp Windows if SD! doesn't copy the NTFS partition?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:15 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
SuperDuper! won't copy a BootCamp volume. It seems likely that you started up from the original BootCamp partition when you started Parallels (it referenced the original volume name or ID).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leopard, Boot Camp, and VMware Fusion Gibbor General 1 11-21-2007 08:20 PM
Error with Boot Camp & MacBook Pro EFI Firmware errors suntigen General 7 09-28-2007 08:43 PM
A slightly different Boot Camp question, I think soulbarn General 9 02-27-2007 08:22 AM
ARGGG. Why doesn't SuperDuper recognize my Boot Camp windows drive?? swb General 1 08-09-2006 11:00 AM
Can't Boot from External Partition Goldie General 12 05-06-2005 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.