Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:14 PM
prestonholmes prestonholmes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
smartupdate inflating target

OK, I've read through the troubleshooting section of the UG, and searched for, found, and read the threads about running out of space.

I'm having this problem now with our nightly backups. I understand the need for working space, but this problem is being exacerbated by the target volume ending up with more data on it than the source (after a successful smart update). I haven't done a fsdiff, but the source has 22GB free and the target has 5GB. I can understand them being off by a bit, but 15+ GB ??

If anything I would expect the reverse since I thought the copyscripts ignored some non-critical cache files, VM, etc.

I can do the erase and then copy, but I don't know for how long that will last because I don't know where this creep in storage is coming from...

-Preston
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:37 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did you look at the file it's failing on, Preston? If that's being written actively while we're backing it up, this can happen...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:59 PM
prestonholmes prestonholmes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
I had already resolved the out of space issue by deleting some larger files on the source and target to open up more working space, so now the 5GB remaining is enough for a successful smart update. So now the question is why the discrepancy after a successful smart update?

I'm going to runn a diff -qr to see if I can track it down.

Thanks,

-Preston
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2007, 04:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
So, the file that was listed as failing in the log didn't provide any clue?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2007, 04:21 PM
prestonholmes prestonholmes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
So, the file that was listed as failing in the log didn't provide any clue?
Nope - in this last case it was a single jpeg in an iphoto library, backup was afterhours, so it certainly wasn't some active videocapture file or something along those lines.

Previously the culprit was a rsnapshot log file that I had accidently left in verbose setting so was huge. The backup should have occurred after the rsnapshot was complete, so that log file should have been quiet.

Does SD use some hidden dir on the target to store working files? I couldn't find anything obvious with a quick look.

-Preston

Last edited by prestonholmes; 05-18-2007 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2007, 04:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Nope, no "working files" at all.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to preserve icon of target volume during smartbackup? mypointofview General 62 12-08-2007 07:18 AM
SmartUpdate failed: target disk full macWish General 2 11-02-2006 11:49 AM
Smartupdate File Size seems Large rwg4 General 1 09-15-2006 03:12 PM
Possible or not - Define a 'folder' as a 'target drive'? Marc Dolfen General 1 03-05-2006 03:41 PM
Make target bootable when source is not bootable after Backup - all files bammi General 1 11-30-2005 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.