Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2007, 01:32 PM
raf raf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
SD notification on machine w/o Apple Mail

Here's the situation:

I run SD on 2 machines (PowerMac and MacMini). On the mini I do not run Apple Mail. (It is a media server and I want it as lean and simplified as possible). However, I do want to be informed when a backup succeeds and/or fails on both machines.

So I set up Growl on the desktop, configured SD with MailMe and now I get an email notification for each scheduled copy. All is well on that end.

Now I want the same thing on the mini, but Growl won't work since it (apparently) needs Apple Mail. I looked at the "Copy Job Script.template" as was suggested in another thread, but I am not running smtp on the mini, so I don't think I can get a mail message sent from there.

(As an aside, I could find no documentation on how to get the modified "Copy Job Script.template" to be run by SuperDuper!. Do I just edit it and save it back to where it was?)

I seems crazy to me to have to run all this software just to get notification that SuperDuper! has or has not done its job. There must be an easier way that I am missing?

Thanks,
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you just configure Apple Mail with your account information, Growl will be able to use it... you don't have to "run" Apple Mail for real -- the configuration is enough.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2007, 07:10 PM
raf raf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks. I'll give that a try.

On a related note, can you tell me how to make use of the "Copy Job Script.template" as you suggested in another thread? I am an experienced programmer and have a fair bit of experience with AppleScript, but am not clear how SD uses this script.
- Does it load the "Copy Job Script.template" file itself? (the template extension hs me wondering)
- would it be better to include my changes as a "loaded" script somehow so that my code would be somewhat insulated against SD upgrades?

Any general guidance as well would be much appreciated.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2007, 08:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Whwnever a new schedule is created, the template is copied into the settings package in Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies. So, if you want code to be included in all subsequent copies, you'd change the template -- and you'd have to modify the template after every update.

For one copy, you can change Copy Job.applescript in the settings package itself.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2007, 08:22 PM
raf raf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Great thanks. This helps a lot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hotkey Control of Remote machine? thom General 8 03-03-2007 10:50 AM
Image from 1 machine to another won't boot scottonaharley General 1 11-29-2006 03:02 PM
i tunes and mail nalsdixit General 3 10-25-2005 09:28 AM
How to back-up for Apple Upgrade Star Traveler General 3 01-29-2005 09:48 PM
write problems after cloning machine mkrueger General 13 12-31-2004 07:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.