Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:37 PM
OSN OSN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Not enough space error

It's telling me not enough space, it's not partitioned and there definitely should be enough space. Is there anything I should try before I erase the backup and try to start over?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2012, 12:40 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Send me the log using the "Send to shirt pocket" button, or review the Troubleshooting section of the User's Guide...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2012, 08:14 PM
mongpa mongpa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Greetings from Australia. I use SuperDuper! 2.7.1 (Mac OS 10.7.4) and sometimes run out of disc space on the target device using Smart Update. I was surprised initially, because, being a long-time user of Retrospect, I expected SuperDuper! to take account of deleted items and items with changed names in the source before allocating space on the target.

I presumed SuperDuper! was copying new items it encountered earlier alphabetically in the folder hierarchy before taking account of later ones. That seemed to be confirmed by the SuperDuper! help. On this hypothesis, I was making sure to delete things later down in the hierarchy on the target to make space, which seemed to work in the past.

Today, however, I had the problem after changing the source so that a large folder was moved further down in the hierarchy and another large folder merged with it. I found on close inspection that SuperDuper! had preserved the two separate folders that had been merged, both with the old names, and also copied the merged folder with the new name. It seems, Smart Update first copies everything new and only then deletes what is old. Is this hypothesis correct? How to get round this while still using Smart Update?

Thank you for making this very useful app available to the mac community.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2012, 03:49 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, that's not correct - see the Troubleshooting section of the User's Guide, which explains how things work in some detail...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart Update Failing: No Space Left On Device Error ? snpower General 6 04-13-2012 01:00 PM
Get disk Full error when trying to Back up... but PLENTY of disk space... WHY? hassiman General 5 10-09-2010 07:51 AM
Out of Space error on large partition squidz General 1 07-30-2007 12:14 PM
SuperDuper Error nvlagry General 3 10-09-2006 08:22 PM
Panther to Tiger with a bootable Lacie external dombort General 20 07-25-2005 03:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.