Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:06 PM
labguy labguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Should SD! Automatically unmount image?

Hello,

Based on the discussions here I thought SD! would unmount a disk image after a scheduled backup is complete; however, in my case, it does not unmount.

I am backing up an iMac running 10.4.9 to a sparse disk image on a networked drive. I set SD! to do a smart backup and quit. Then schedule the backup. I unmount the disk image and network drive. When the backup runs, SD! mounts the drive and image, copies, and quits. Shouldn't it unmount the disk image too, or am I misunderstanding something?

I am getting around this right now by tossing in a script after backup that detaches the image:

hdiutil detach "/volumes/Backup"

This works, but I was a bit concerned why SD! didn't detach automatically. Thoughts?


Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you pointing at the image file, or the image volume?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:40 PM
labguy labguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Image volume. That is, when I set up SD! I mounted the image and pointed SD! to the volume.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:49 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Right. In that case, we don't unmount it... we only mount/copy/unmount for physical drives or image files that you point us to...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2007, 03:05 PM
afragen afragen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to afragen
You should look at this thread for a solution.

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=2378

Scripts are up at http://thefragens.com/pub/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:23 AM
d-v-c d-v-c is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
That is, when I set up SD! I mounted the image and pointed SD! to the volume.

-----------

Right. In that case, we don't unmount it... we only mount/copy/unmount for physical drives or image files that you point us to...
1) How can one mount an image BEFORE the first backup has been made as it doesn't exist yet?

2) And, how can SD be pointed to an image doesn't yet exist?

3) With no existing image to mount, SD must be the one who creates/mounts one it writes to. So why can't SD unmount what it creates/mounts?

4) What happens if an image is not unmounted?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2007, 09:48 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There's a difference between image and host drive. You can't mount an image before it exists, of course. But you can point us at the location where the image is to be stored.

SD! does unmount when it creates/mounts.

If an image is not unmounted, it remains on your desktop. If you were to crash, it wouldn't be properly unmounted, of course.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2007, 12:30 PM
afragen afragen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to afragen
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
There's a difference between image and host drive. You can't mount an image before it exists, of course. But you can point us at the location where the image is to be stored.

SD! does unmount when it creates/mounts.

If an image is not unmounted, it remains on your desktop. If you were to crash, it wouldn't be properly unmounted, of course.
Guys, don't be frustrated. There's a script at that above URL that I run at the end of every SD run that unmounts the sparseimages, or any other AFP mounts for that matter.

Here's the gist of it.

Code:
#!/usr/bin/env bash
# http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2378

sleep 45

if [[ `mount | awk '/^afp_/'` != "" ]]; then
  mount | grep ^afp_ \
  | perl -pe 's/.*? on //;s/( \([^)]*\))?$//;'"s/'/'\\\\''/;s/^/'/;s/\$/'/" \
  | xargs umount -f
fi
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:50 AM
d-v-c d-v-c is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You can't mount an image before it exists, of course. But you can point us at the location where the image is to be stored.
In the dialog box, you can select the NAS drive.

How does one "point us at the location where the image is to be stored"?

I had NO luck trying to select an existing folder in which to store the image.

Use MAKE NEW FOLDER button?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-23-2007, 10:21 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You select the existing folder and then name the image. Perhaps I just don't understand the issue here...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undersized disk image and a Boot Camp-related backup question garybollocks General 3 10-23-2006 02:07 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM
Sparse image from aborted DMG backup? Winston General 9 10-22-2005 01:28 PM
Question regarding backing up to Image giba General 3 05-20-2005 06:54 PM
How do I update an image? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-12-2004 11:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.