Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2011, 08:20 AM
OSN OSN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Clone doesn't show up as startup disk

I've booted from my external drive before, but now it doesn't show up as a startup disk after apparently making a successful bootable copy.

Is there anything I could try?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2011, 08:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sure. It's likely mispartitioned - see the Frequently Asked Questions section of the SuperDuper forum, top question.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2011, 08:55 AM
OSN OSN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks for the quick reply. The drive showed up and booted successfully when I restarted and hit option.

I assume that means it must be partitioned correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2011, 08:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Definitely not. It means it's not partitioned right (but still works for EFI, but not System Preferences). It should be repartitioned properly as explained in the FAQ.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2011, 09:18 AM
OSN OSN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
OK thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2011, 06:03 PM
OSN OSN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Got everything working properly by following those instructions, thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2011, 07:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad to hear things worked as expected.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup clone disk will not boot the system harlanc General 5 09-09-2009 08:47 AM
Using Disk Utility from Clone gets -9972 error (falsely?) eagseags General 6 09-08-2007 10:50 PM
Clone not showing in StartUp Disk, and cannot dismount Destination Drive Dial General 9 01-08-2007 07:50 AM
Disk Clone not showing up in Boot Startup list richardl General 7 03-11-2006 07:28 PM
Identifying Startup Disk mcthomas General 1 09-01-2005 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.