Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:09 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Where is the log file stored?

I have SuperDuper running on a OS X server about 1000 miles away. Most of the maintenance and other misc. tasks I do through the terminal. Since I just started using SuperDuper (in place of ChronoSync and CCC), I want to monitor it closely until it gains my full and complete trust. So I want to make sure that my scheduled backups are actually occurring, so what would be the best way of verifying this:

1) Maybe through the log file??? Where is it?
2) Maybe some UNIX command line that will show me the last time a drive was touched??? How?
3) Maybe SuperDuper has a way of notifying the user when a particular Backup succeeded or failed???

Anyway, I just want to get feedback on what's the best approach to this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The log file is stored in the settings package for the given scheduled copy, stored in Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies. You'll find the logs inside the appropriate package, in the Logs folder.

If you want it to notify you when the copy happens, I'd suggest modifying the "Copy Job" script you'll find in the same package. Edit the entries at the top to do whatever you'd like for notification (you can even use "path to me" to find the location of the logfiles and the like).

Then, uncheck and re-check the schedule checkbox, and we'll compile the script for you.

Does that help?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:59 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
I'm not sure it does help. I'm trying to accomplish this through the Terminal and the only thing I find that is "Cron Job" is a file called "Cron Job.app". So I'm not sure where to go from here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You mean 'Copy Job.app'?

Parallel to that you should see a "Logs" folder. Go in that folder and you'll see the logs.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:18 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
I found the Logs folder. I was responding to this statement of yours:

Quote:
If you want it to notify you when the copy happens, I'd suggest modifying the "Copy Job" script you'll find in the same package. Edit the entries at the top to do whatever you'd like for notification (you can even use "path to me" to find the location of the logfiles and the like).
Now that I am looking at the Log file. Is it safe to assume that if the log says "Copy complete" as mine does, that the process complete WITHOUT any problems/errors? Meaning, would it ever say "Copy complete" and still have errors or problems with the copy?

Also, yes I meant "Copy Job".

Last edited by pwharff; 12-06-2005 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:21 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it won't say "Copy complete" if there are problems -- it'll end with an error.

The previous statement is referring to the "Copy Job.applescript" you'll also find parallel to the Copy Job.app. The "app" is the compiled version.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:33 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Ahh, thanks a bunch! I think I'll write a shell script to look at the last line and verify if "Copy Complete" exisits. This would be reliable, right?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, it assumes we're not going to change the text -- which we shouldn't, but don't guarantee. It should work, though.

It might be easier to look at the .scheduleJobProperties file at the top of the package. This is a little XML file that'll tell you the last stop time, and also says whether or not the execution succeeded. Here's a snippet of one:

Code:
[g5:SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies/Smart Update G5 from Macintosh HD.sdsp] dnanian% cat .scheduledJobProperties 
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
        <key>SDExitStatus</key>
        <string>normal</string>
        <key>SDLogFileName</key>
        <string>/Users/dnanian/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies/Smart Update G5 from Macintosh HD.sdsp/Logs/2005-12-06 17:47:24 -0500.sdlog</string>
        <key>SDScheduleStartTimestamp</key>
        <date>2005-12-06T22:47:25Z</date>
        <key>SDScheduleStopTimestamp</key>
        <date>2005-12-06T23:53:01Z</date>
etc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2005, 12:04 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Thank you once again. One last question, what is the "0800" at the end of my log filename? Is this my GMT offset?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2005, 12:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, it is.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-07-2005, 12:51 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Not the best at shell scripting, but would this script be adequate:

Code:
head -6 .scheduledJobProperties | tail -2 | sed 's/\<key\>//g' | sed 's/\<\/key\>//g' | sed 's/\<string\>//g' | sed 's/\<\/string\>//g' | awk '{ print $1 }'
This assumes that the string "normal" is always the 6th line.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Looks about right to me!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:12 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Is the string for <key>SDExitStatus</key> always the 6th line?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:15 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
At present. Of course, we can't guarantee that long term... it might be easier to use a grep expression to search for SDExitStatus, or just sed search for it in the file, since the value will always follow the key. That's be less dependent on the actual location.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:22 PM
pwharff pwharff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Duh! You're right! This works much better:

Code:
grep -A 1 SDExitStatus .scheduledJobProperties | sed 's/\<key\>//g' | sed 's/\<\/key\>//g' | sed 's/\<string\>//g' | sed 's/\<\/string\>//g' | awk '{ print $1 }'

Last edited by pwharff; 12-07-2005 at 05:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with SD fdwlaw General 8 01-15-2006 10:58 AM
SD 2.0.1 changed saved settings file names edoates General 3 12-03-2005 03:34 PM
No such file or directory jjg General 7 05-06-2005 02:07 PM
File Preventing Successful Backup michael k General 4 03-18-2005 10:02 AM
My backup is failing on the file /Library/Frameworks/StuffIt.framework/.DS_Store! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-07-2004 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.