Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2008, 04:06 PM
cascadesjohn cascadesjohn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
MacBook Pro, LaCie, SuperDuper stops

My problem is the same as BenA's except for configuration. I have a first-generation MacBook Pro 17", 2gb RAM, 100 gb internal hard drive, and am running OS 10.5.4. My SuperDuper is 2.5 (v84) and is unregistered at this point.

I've tried to do a full backup to a 120 gb external LaCie drive several times. While SuperDuper! has worked fine many times in the past for me doing full backups, it now stops dead maybe a third of the way through the process. Elapsed time keeps going, but nothing else. In my previous successful use, I had the LaCie partitioned and now I don't. That's the only difference in conditions that is obvious to me.

I suspect there's something that I should have done to the LaCie that I didn't know to do when I got rid of the partitioning.

I welcome help. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2008, 07:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Drop me a note to support, John, and I'll provide a command that'll show what we're copying when it fails.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2008, 08:26 AM
over over is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
I have the same problem with my macbook Mac OS X 10.4.11, unregistred Copy of SD and a LACIE. I tried to backup it for the 2nd time. The first one went smothely. But now it simply won't go beyond 2/3 or so.

So long,

Julian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Same advice, Julian -- drop me an email.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2008, 07:08 PM
schembs schembs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Same problem, but my SD is registered

I have MacBook Pro 1st generation, Mac OS X 10.4.11, SD 2.5 (v84) registered.

Regularly SD backups seem to stop mid-way through (as in no SD activity from around 5 minutes in, for another 45 or so minutes before I kill it). Even when it works, the backups are way slower than before I started noticing this problem.

Specific hardware/software configuration causing the problem?

I'll try emailing to you now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2008, 07:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
See my other reply to you in a separate thread.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper prevents MacBook Pro from sleeping scotty321 General 2 06-14-2008 07:40 PM
Buying a new Macbook Pro (replacing old Macbook Pro). Use SuperDuper? brianh General 1 05-12-2008 01:00 PM
Superduper stalls on Macbook ben10friend General 6 07-31-2007 06:31 PM
Copy SuperDuper to MacBook Murray General 1 04-30-2007 10:45 AM
Macbook + Lacie FW drive: Can SuperDuper images be made bootable? martin42 General 8 01-04-2007 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.