Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:08 PM
Manu Chao Manu Chao is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
SD no longer honouring backup-on-mounting-drive

For the last two weeks or so, SD no longer starts a backup when connecting an external drive. I have tried to set it again but it does not start.

Starting the backup manually works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Nothing happened about two weeks ago that preceded these failures?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2013, 03:00 PM
Manu Chao Manu Chao is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Nothing happened about two weeks ago that preceded these failures?
Apart from the year changing from 2012 to 2013, no. Maybe there was an OS crash (requiring a forced shutdown) in between, I had one recently (in the last couple of weeks) but I cannot remember exactly when that was.

So, if this is not a problem frequent enough that some possible causes are known that could suggest a course of action, I will try the usual: re-install the SuperDuper and try a new OS user account.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2013, 03:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'd actually:
  • Delete all existing schedules
  • Remove the "Scheduled Copies" folder in ~/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!
  • Restart your Mac
  • Recreate the schedule
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2013, 04:17 PM
Manu Chao Manu Chao is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I'd actually:
  • Delete all existing schedules
  • Remove the "Scheduled Copies" folder in ~/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!
  • Restart your Mac
  • Recreate the schedule
I've tried it in a new user account which by default starts without a folder 'Scheduled Copies' and no existing schedules and required me to re-create the schedule. I also had just restarted my Mac just two days ago, ie, well after the problem occurred. I also installed a new copy of SD into the new users's Application folder.

At first, it did not work in the new user account either but then I tried two things: (1) logged out and back into the new user account and (2) connected the external drive directly (it was the third device in FW chain before). After that (I cannot say which of the two steps did the trick), it worked, even after putting the device back again in its normal position in the FW chain.

Unfortunately, when I tried it again in my regular user account, it did not work (after following your steps). I can try to delete all SuperDuper content from ~/Library but maybe something else (non shirt-pocket stuff) is wrong with my main user account. Is SD relying on other things (eg, folder actions on /Volumes) to do the start upon connecting feature?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2013, 04:24 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We've simply got a LaunchAgent that is run when volumes are mounted, and then we look for the volume you scheduled with. If you've done everything I've suggested, perhaps something is preventing the launch. But that would be weird.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2013, 09:05 AM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manu Chao View Post
For the last two weeks or so, SD no longer starts an automatic backup when connecting an external drive. I have tried to set it again but it does not start.

Starting the backup manually works fine.
Exactly same issue here.
Could someone help us, please ?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2013, 09:06 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
See my replies to Manu - that will fix it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2013, 09:23 AM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
See my replies to Manu - that will fix it.
I had not seen it.
I am reading it.
Thanks for quick and efficient support.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2013, 10:04 AM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Solved !
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-16-2013, 10:05 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Great! Glad you're fixed.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-19-2013, 07:41 PM
Manu Chao Manu Chao is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Problem re-occured - nailed down part of the problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manu Chao View Post
SD no longer starts a backup when connecting an external drive.
The problem re-occurred (already some time ago but I just now came around to fix it).
In the end, it only started working again after I downloaded a fresh copy of SD and replaced the one in my /Applications folder with it. Before that I went through seven debugging rounds, always repeating all previous measures and adding one or two additional things. I cannot say that replacing SD in Applications was sufficient it but it was a necessary ingredient.

1) Deleted schedules, deleted 'Scheduled Copies' (in ~/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!, restart computer, re-create schedule, saved SD settings, quit SD, ejected disk, re-connected disk --> nothing happened

2) Deleted schedules, deleted 'SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Application Support), restart computer, re-create schedule, saved SD settings, quit SD, ejected disk, re-connected disk --> nothing happened

3) Deleted schedules, deleted
- 'SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Application Support) and
- both 'com.shirtpocket.backuponmount' plist files (in ~/Library/LaunchAgents),
restart computer, re-create schedule, saved SD settings, quit SD, ejected disk, re-connected disk --> nothing happened

4) Deleted schedules, deleted
- 'SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Application Support) and
- both 'com.shirtpocket.backuponmount' plist files (in ~/Library/LaunchAgents),
- 'blacey.SuperDuper!.savedState' (in ~/Library/ Saved Application State)
- 'SuperDuper!_xxx.plist' (in ~/Library/Application Support/CrashReporter)

restart computer, re-create schedule, saved SD settings, quit SD, ejected disk, re-connected disk --> nothing happened

5) Deleted schedules, deleted
- 'SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Application Support) and
- both 'com.shirtpocket.backuponmount' plist files (in ~/Library/LaunchAgents),
- 'blacey.SuperDuper!.savedState' (in ~/Library/ Saved Application State)
(- 'SuperDuper!_xxx.plist' (in ~/Library/Application Support/CrashReporter))
- 'com.blacy.SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Caches)
restart computer, re-create schedule, saved SD settings, quit SD, ejected disk, re-connected disk --> nothing happened

6) Deleted schedules, deleted
- 'SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Application Support) and
- both 'com.shirtpocket.backuponmount' plist files (in ~/Library/LaunchAgents),
- 'blacey.SuperDuper!.savedState' (in ~/Library/ Saved Application State)
(- 'SuperDuper!_xxx.plist' (in ~/Library/Application Support/CrashReporter))
- 'com.blacey.SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Caches)
- 'com.blacey.SuperDuper.xxx.plist' (in ~/Library/Preferences)
- app.com.blacey.Superduper!.playlist (in ~/private/var/db/BootCaches/xxx)

restart computer, re-create schedule, saved SD settings, quit SD, ejected disk, re-connected disk --> nothing happened

7) Deleted schedules, deleted
- 'SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Application Support) and
- both 'com.shirtpocket.backuponmount' plist files (in ~/Library/LaunchAgents),
- 'blacey.SuperDuper!.savedState' (in ~/Library/ Saved Application State)
(- 'SuperDuper!_xxx.plist' (in ~/Library/Application Support/CrashReporter))
- 'com.blacey.SuperDuper!' (in ~/Library/Caches)
- 'com.blacey.SuperDuper.xxx.plist' (in ~/Library/Preferences)
- app.com.blacey.Superduper!.playlist (in ~/private/var/db/BootCaches/xxx)
- Replaced SuperDuper!.app in Applications with a newly downloaded copy
restart computer, re-create schedule, saved SD settings, quit SD, ejected disk, re-connected disk --> nothing happened

After step 6) I had to 'unlock' something (probably because I had deleted stuff in /private/var). And when it worked after step 7) I had to authorise a new application inside the SuperDuper! bundle to be run for the first time (because it was downloaded from the internet.

Next time the problem re-occurs, I'll start debugging from the other end (ie, start with replacing SuperDuper!.app and then add the boot caches and so on). If you are interested in the SuperDuper!.app bundled that needed replacing, I can retrieve it from a backup and send it to you.

Last edited by Manu Chao; 10-19-2013 at 07:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-19-2013, 07:44 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sounds more like something had happened to launch services and/or your script dictionary...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-19-2013, 11:35 PM
Manu Chao Manu Chao is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Sounds more like something had happened to launch services and/or your script dictionary...
And running a new copy of SD for the first time resets something in launch services?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-20-2013, 12:01 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, deleting your existing copy, then reinstalling is going to clear out Apple's cached information about the app.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD no longer recognizing backup drive orionxl General 6 10-27-2009 04:24 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Server drive won't mount after backup rhennosy General 1 11-09-2007 04:49 PM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 07:50 PM
Laptop freezes buring backup kaalm General 5 05-12-2005 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.