Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:40 AM
leo leo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Cloning a Mac that won't boot anymore?

Unfortunately, my Desktop Mac, a G4 Quicksilver with OS 10.3.9 and about 100GB of files on it, doesn't start up anymore, even when trying to boot from an external CD (holding down C while pressing the start up button). It looks as if the internal HD can't be read anymore :-((

Anyway, I have an Intel Macbook running on 10.5.8. and with currently about 30GB free space.

So, the big question is:

If I buy an external HD bigger than 100GB, would it be possible to clone the 100GB of the G4 by using SuperDuper? If yes, how?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:06 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,815
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If it won't even start up with the "C" key (which boots from the CD), and your internal drive isn't working, I don't see how it could be read, let alone copied in full...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2009, 10:17 AM
leo leo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
current situation

Many thanks for your quick reply even though your answer doesn't look very uplifting. Such is life. But listen, it seems like a miracle, but I have just been able to restart the machine again. In other words, the G4 is currently running on 10.3.9 (maybe for one last time).

Given this situation, how would you proceed now? In the meantime I got an external HD (Iomega 250GB).

Many thanks for your advice
Leo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2009, 11:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,815
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'd backup as quickly as you can. I'd start with a "Backup - user files" to get as much of your Home folder on the backup as you can. Once that's done, THEN switch to "Backup - all files". (Use Smart Update in all cases), which will add the rest.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2009, 06:46 PM
TMay TMay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 118
leo

Do as Dave says.

I will only add that I have such a computer. If it craps out on you again before you are able to do, or complete, the backups Dave is referring to, I'd make one suggestion. If the machine is truly totally refusing to power up (you don't say exactly) then it is quite likely (only "quite likely"...not certain) that the internal drive with your data is fine and that the problem lies elsewhere in the machine. This means that by simply removing your drive and putting it into an appropriate case or adapter you might well be able to extract the data. Well worth a last ditch try.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Really odd cloning experiences Steve Kir General 3 12-22-2008 11:56 AM
Cloning XServe Mirrored Boot HD rethinkit General 3 07-04-2008 03:28 PM
Unable to boot cloned drive anymore s1h1 General 3 11-10-2007 01:26 AM
First Boot Experience, Seagate 400GB PushButton FW Works! greenjeens General 5 05-25-2006 07:19 AM
Can't Boot from External Partition Goldie General 12 05-06-2005 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.