Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2010, 08:28 PM
jefferyn jefferyn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 8
sparseimage mounting problem - resource unavailable

greetings,

this error message started recently & i don't recall what might be causing it.

i back-up to a sparseimage file on one of our unix servers. for a years, i'd just run it manually. but a few weeks ago, i decided to try the backup as a scheduled back up during the night. it worked fine for a week, but then i've been seeing error message that it hasn't been successful when i come in the morning for a week now.

when i try running the backup manually, the mac mounts the nfs server, but it fails to mount the diskimage file located on the server. when i attempt to mount it from the finder, the finder displays an error message: "disk images couldn't be opened... {filename}.sparseimage - Resource temporarily unavailable. " {filename} is the real file name.

it seems to me that i've seen this before, but don't remember what it is. i searched both the apple discussion forums and also the superduper forums. but the search did not find any matches...

any idea what this problems is?

any idea how to fix it?

i appreciate any suggestions-
thanks-
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2010, 08:38 PM
jefferyn jefferyn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 8
ps: i'd unmounted and remounted the nfs server, restarted superduper a number of times... they don't help-
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2010, 08:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Have you tried restarting the NFS server? I realize that seems excessive, but it sounds like there's a lock somewhere that isn't released.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2010, 02:07 PM
jefferyn jefferyn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 8
haven't been able to reboot the server. it is remote and the SA is fairly unresponsive. so i may have to try something else. though i'm not sure what the something else might be...

if that didn't fix the problem, what's my next step? possibly delete everything and start over? or is there something less severe? is there a utility or something that might diagnose a disk image problem?

thanks for the suggestion though-
jeffery
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2010, 02:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well... have you tried renaming the image? I really don't know what might cause this other than a stuck lock on the server side (and we don't lock things explicitly, so it may be an NFS implementation problem with OSX or the stack on server side).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Mounting problem... hiroshisugi General 2 02-23-2008 01:52 AM
SD! not mounting sparseImage rdlsmith General 1 08-10-2007 07:48 AM
Problem with sparseimage backup: LOSS OF DATA germ General 3 06-19-2006 09:27 PM
mounting the sparseimage in windows veszig General 1 06-12-2006 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.