Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 01-02-2023, 10:40 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,879
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As you know, you can use "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update" to copy the entire data volume to a drive and then install the OS over it, if you'd like to try that. I can't see how it would cause a problem with a separate partition.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-15-2023, 09:36 PM
sdsl sdsl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbdoc View Post
I don*t want to risk messing up my external drive which is partitioned for a clone + Time Machine)
Just a random editorial comment -- putting a clone and a Time Machine backup on the same physical drive is not a resilient backup strategy. If a power surge takes out both your Mac and the physical drive, you lose everything. I have seen external drives fail with first one partition won't mount rapidly followed by the other one becoming inaccessible. Much safer to put the clone and the Time Machine backup on separate drives. Then you would feel more secure about installing a clean system on one of those physical drives as you would still have a good backup on a separate device in case something went amiss.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-15-2023, 11:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,879
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, as I recommend in my own "best practices" post, you want both software and hardware redundancy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-21-2023, 09:45 AM
gbdoc gbdoc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 19
Smile Finally a bootable clone - and more

I*ve been bugging you about creating a bootable clone. Now I*ve done it, and even more: I also wanted to offload Windows stuff from my MBAir M2 which was filling up onto an external drive and use it via Parallels Desktop. Now I've done it and it all works.

Just FYI, so you can advise others:

I got an OWC Envoy Express and fitted it with a 1 TB OWC Aura P12 Pro (very fast, very easy installation; also fast, customs-free delivery from OWC's Belgian branch), on which I created 3 volumes, Windows, Stacks (for sundry stuff, no programs), and a bootable clone (which boots nearly as quickly as my Mac). That last was a little tricky. I first make a clone with SuperDuper!, after that, I installed OS Ventura 13.1 on that volume, then I had to allow that drive to boot, administrator privileges, and a little back and forth, but it finally works. Now I have a 1.5 TB MBAir rather than just my built-in 512 GB, at an additional price of *225.00. And if I ever need to have to even more external storage space (I don*t think I will), Aura P12 Pro*s come in up to 8 TB.
__________________
MBAir M2 and others
latest OS
assorted accessories

Last edited by dnanian; 01-21-2023 at 10:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clone, m2 mac, monterey


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone of Clone will not boot on new drive. fmlogue General 1 08-27-2011 04:39 PM
Boot SnowLeopard Mac w/Leopard clone? geiswood General 8 04-03-2011 02:45 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Can't boot from SuperDuper clone HD. HDH607 General 1 09-10-2008 08:50 AM
Unable to boot from clone backup after update tleveque General 1 02-06-2008 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.