Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:13 AM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Unhappy Scheduled Copies doesn' work in Japanese Language mode.

I am using SD in the Japanese Language mode.
(System Prefernces -> Internationl -> Languages -> ???(Japanese))

Scheduled Copies doesn't work in Japanese Language mode.

I tried with Terminal.

-------------------------
$ crontab -l

30 21 * * 1,2,3,4,5 open file:///Users/ichiro/Library/Application\%20Support/SuperDuper\%21/Scheduled\%20Copies/Smart\%20Update\%20Frog_HD_ichiro\%20from\%20Frog\ %20HD.sdsp/Copy\%20Job.app

$ open file:///Users/ichiro/Library/Application\%20Support/SuperDuper\%21/Scheduled\%20Copies/Smart\%20Update\%20Frog_HD_ichiro\%20from\%20Frog\ %20HD.sdsp/Copy\%20Job.app
-------------------------

SD did not start.

However,It worked in English Language mode.
(System Prefernces -> Internationl -> Languages -> English)

Is there a way of making Scheduled Copies work in Japanese Language mode?

-----------------------------
Mac mini PPC
Mac OS X 10.4.8 Japanese

Last edited by ichiro; 10-12-2006 at 06:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2006, 10:39 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's strange, Ichiro: we have a large number of Japanese language users and have only run into a single problem (which had to do with "back slashes" under 10.3.9).

On top of that, your drive names certainly aren't unusual at all, and have no Japanese characters in them.

Do you get any sort of error? Will SuperDuper! launch if you just try with AppleScript?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2006, 02:25 PM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
> Will SuperDuper! launch if you just try with AppleScript?
I tried Applescript in the Japanese Language mode.

/Users/ichiro/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies/Smart Update Frog_HD_ichiro from Frog HD.sdsp/Copy Job.applescript

1. I open "Copy Job.applescript" with ScriptEditor.
2. I click the ScriptEditor's compile button.
3. I click the ScriptEditor's run button.
4. SD! starts up.
5. Script stops in the following places.

read theSettingsFile

-----------------------------------------------
set theSettingsFile to POSIX file sessionSettingFile
open for access theSettingsFile
set mySettings to read theSettingsFile
close access theSettingsFile
----------------------------------------------

This Script was the same result in the English mode.

However,"Copy Job.app" worked with English mode without trouble.
"Copy Job.app" doesn't work in the Japanese mode.

Last edited by ichiro; 10-13-2006 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:49 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
And you get no errors in the Console, ichiro?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2006, 01:33 PM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
> 5. Script stops in the following places.
AppleScript Editor's Error Message.

---------------------
AppleScript Error
End of file error.
---------------------

event log window
----------------------------
tell application "SuperDuper!"
get status
idle
end tell
tell current application
open for access file "Frog HD:Applications:AppleScript:Session Settings.sdss"
78
read file "Frog HD:Applications:AppleScript:Session Settings.sdss"
open for access file "Frog HD:Applications:AppleScript:Session Settings.sdss"
79
read file "Frog HD:Applications:AppleScript:Session Settings.sdss"
-----------------------------------------

Last edited by ichiro; 10-13-2006 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:53 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Right; that's failing because "path to me" doesn't work when running the script in the script editor. The real question is whether or not we can launch and run SuperDuper! when in Japanese mode.

So, what I'd suggest is -- in Terminal, in Japanese mode, with SuperDuper! not running -- running the following:

Code:
osascript
tell application "SuperDuper!" to launch
Then press Control-d. That *should* launch SuperDuper. Does it?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2006, 03:50 AM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
I tried osascript in Terminal,in Japanese mode.
SuperDuper! was launched.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2006, 10:38 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. Please open the Console application and clear it. Then, try to run the Copy Job application (in its normal location, with "open").

Send me anything that appears in the system.log or console.log...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2006, 11:18 AM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
I tried to run Copy Job application in English mode.
SD! worked with English mode without trouble.

Command in Terminal
-----------------------
$ open file:///Users/ichiro/Library/Application\%20Support/SuperDuper\%21/Scheduled\%20Copies/Copy\%20Newer\%20files\%20from\%20Frog\%20HD\%20to \%20BackupImage01.sdsp/Copy\%20Job.app
-----------------------

syslog
-----------------------------
Oct 17 22:48:20 mac-mini KernelEventAgent[32] <Notice>: tid 00000000 received unknown event (256)
Oct 17 22:48:20 mac-mini sudo <Notice>: root : TTY=unknown ; PWD=/ ; USER=ichiro ; COMMAND=/usr/bin/hdiutil create -size 102264.06m -fs HFS+J -type SPARSE -volname BackupImage01 -ov /Users/Shared/BackupImage01.sparseimage
Oct 17 22:48:26 mac-mini sudo <Notice>: root : TTY=unknown ; PWD=/ ; USER=ichiro ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod 0664 /Users/Shared/BackupImage01.sparseimage
Oct 17 22:48:28 mac-mini sudo <Notice>: root : TTY=unknown ; PWD=/ ; USER=ichiro ; COMMAND=/bin/echo /dev/disk3s2
Oct 17 22:48:28 mac-mini KernelEventAgent[32] <Notice>: tid 00000000 received unknown event (256)
-------------------------

However,"Copy Job.app" doesn't work in the Japanese mode.
SD was no reaction.
SD dosen't launch.
Nothing was recorded in syslog.

Last edited by ichiro; 10-17-2006 at 11:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2006, 12:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
To other forum members: are any other Japanese users experiencing this problem?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-21-2006, 12:45 AM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
I found an improvement method of a trouble.

I referred to a page of here.
http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/ind...t_japan_style/

Japanese tiger systems need ASCII 128 as backslash.

I changed the following file.
/Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Job Script.template

-------------------------------------
on encode_char(this_char)
set the ASCII_num to (the ASCII number this_char)
set the hex_list to {"0", "1", "2", "3", "4", "5", "6", "7", "8", "9", "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F"}
-- set backslashChar to ASCII character 92
set backslashChar to ASCII character 128
-------------------------------------

-------------------------------------
on encode_text(this_text, encode_URL_A, encode_URL_B)
set the standard_characters to "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz0123456789"
set quoteChar to ASCII character 34
-- set backslashChar to ASCII character 92
set backslashChar to ASCII character 128
-------------------------------------

SuperDuper! worked with Japanese mode without trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-21-2006, 01:18 AM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
SuperDuper! Schedule worked with Japanese mode without trouble by this patch.
However, SuperDuper! Schedule did not work with english mode by this patch.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-21-2006, 10:11 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Interesting. I'd verified the fix I made with a user in Japan (who originally reported the problem), and it worked for him.

In addition, the fix in the blog post should only be required for Panther -- Tiger should be working fine with backslash!

OK -- I'm going to have to try to come up with a technique that will detect this problem. I'm not sure what it is right now, so please stand by, and thanks for the additional information.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-21-2006, 11:09 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. Let's try this.

Under the comment about Japanese backslashes at the top, put the following:

global backslashChar

Delete the declaration of backslashChar in the two encode routines.

At the start of on run (lower down), please put:

Code:
	tell application "System Events"
		set sysInfo to system info
		
		if (characters 1 thru 2 of (user locale of sysInfo)) as string = "ja" then
			set backslashChar to ASCII character 128
		else
			set backslashChar to ASCII character 92
		end if
	end tell
Let me know if that works for both English and Japanese modes.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-22-2006, 05:34 AM
ichiro ichiro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
I tried code.
SD! did not work with English mode and Japanese mode.

applescript-A
----------------
set A to (user locale of (system info)) as string
------------
I trid this applescript-A with English mode and Japanese mode.
For the result, both were "ja_JP".

applescript-B
---------
set B to characters 1 thru 2 of (user locale of (system info)) as string
---------
I trid this applescript-B with English mode and Japanese mode.
For the result, both were "j/a".

It is a /(slash) without knowing why.
It may be the problem of a ScriptEditor.app.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.